We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Luau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luau Kalamaku

Luau Kalamaku
3-2087 Kaumualii Highway, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$104*
and up
Ranked #16 of 46 Activities in Lihue
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
Attraction details
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Luau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I were here for our 5th wedding anniversary, The show was entertaining, staff were friendly, venue was clean. We enjoyed the trades people before the show a gentleman sculpted a tiki statue for my son which he requested we bring back from Hawaii and carved his name into it, there were some beautiful jewelers. Had to try the Poi just because we were in Hawaii, not a favorite I will not be missing that anytime soon. The talent of the dancers is amazing I don't think I would trust myself throwing fire around like that.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    183
    54
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good show, Food was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The show was different and pretty entertaining. It was more of a play where they told you what was happening instead of the normal Hula style that let's the dancing tell the story. All in all it was good and entertaining. The train ride was informative if you could hear over everyone talking and pretty interesting. The drinks were also quite good and almost necessary to enjoy the food. It wasn't bad food, but the expectations for a luau should be higher. I would try a different place next time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Amazing Luau - the show was narrative rather than just a variety type combination of acts. The dancing and music told the story of the Tahitians coming north and finding Hawaii. The good was great. It was VERY large (probably 1200 guests), but it was very well managed, and the lines for the buffet were not a long wait at all.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great evening of entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were very pleased to have chosen Luau Kalamaku. Great meal (fresh fish, pork, salads, open bar, and of course poi!). The entertainment was high quality and spiritual. We loved the fact that it was all done to a story. The performers sticking around for photos after the show was a very nice touch and made for some excellent pictures. We were not sure we wanted to go to a luau on our trip to Kauai, but are very pleased that we did and that we chose Luau Kalamaku.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary Luau show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We did the plantation owners dinner which since we have been to luau's before this was a nice change. It mentioned a champagne brunch which meant one glass of champagne :( . I liked the four course meal at Gaylord's very nice more options would have helped. After dinner we were escorted to the show by several very nice torch bearers a very nice touch! And we got some great seats right up front. I like the show better than normal luau's. It was professional and told a story! I would recommend if you are looking for a good luau on Kauai it is right up there with the Smith Gardens luau can't really compare though they were completely different. I liked the touch of a real flower lei instead of shells. The torch bearers came back to lead us back to Gaylords which helped in the dark !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luau Kalamaku also viewed

 

Been to Luau Kalamaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luau Kalamaku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.