We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much to do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilohana Plantation Estate

Kilohana Plantation Estate
3-2087 Kaumualii Hwy, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-245-5608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 things to do in Lihue
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 1930’s, Kilohana Plantation is a historic landmark and premier visitor attraction offering visitors and locals a glimpse into Kauai’s past combined with assorted island-style activities, dining and shopping. Ride on our Kauai Plantation Railway, winding its way through the plantation’s working farms and orchards. Learn about Kauai’s history, enjoy the beautiful views and stop to feed the pigs! Take the afternoon to stroll the grounds and explore the 16,000 sq. foot plantation home. Stop in at Koloa Rum Co. for a rum tasting or for a full “Rum & Dining Experience.” Visit the various artisan shops located around the grounds and both upstairs and downstairs in the home. Established in 1986, Gaylord’s restaurant is a Kauai tradition. Set in the courtyard of the estate, it offers fresh, island-inspired food and beverages for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Make lunch a part of your fun afternoon on the estate or make reservations for a romantic dinner. Memorable by day, unforgettable by night. Opening soon: A fun new bar in the Kilohana living room. Luau Kalamaku is Kauai’s only theatrical luau telling the story of the original Tahitian voyage to the Hawaiian islands. An interactive experience, it offers all the exciting luau features including an imu ceremony, torch lighting, Polynesian knife dance and of course traditional music & hula. Choose one or all of the features that Kilohana Plantation has to offer. Open daily, you’ll love the chance to see a piece of Kauai’s history while experiencing the best of the island today!
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“much to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The plantation has lots of things you can do. We took the train ride around the grounds; it takes about 40 minutes. The plantation house is beautiful and is converted into shops and a restaurant & lounge. The restaurant is called Gaylord's; and the lunch was very good. We sat on the verandah with nice view of the garden and the breezes. Afterward we went to the Koloa Rum Co. building for a rum tasting - yummy. The rum punch was my favorite, though the mai tai mix was good too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    112
    37
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Taste of Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The best activity on our trip to Kauai. It's has only been offered a few times and once a month, but if it's happening get a seat. We started with a train ride and visit to the orchards and trees. A large table of the best fruit I've ever had was displayed for all attendees. Then Mai Tai school with a glass of the best Mai Tai in the Pacific. Followed by a lunch with dessert.

We had a great presentation and a very interesting guide. Ty? I feel bad I can't remember his name, because he was so pleasant, fun and smart. He was born and raised on Kauai, along with most of the people we met that day. We were told on this trip that Kauai tries to build relationships with its tourist. This activity defined that. The staff at Kilohana was some of the best collectively I've encountered. We felt welcomed, educated and prideful of the agriculture and spirt of Kilohana. What a great ambassador and shining star for modern Hawaiian culture.

Mahalo to the max!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great train ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a must if you have kids. The train goes around the plantation and the guide gives the history of the plantation and area. He speaks about various plants and animals. Half way around the train stops so the passengers can get off and feed the pigs. Bread is provided for that purpose. the kids really like it. It is fun watching the pigs come in from various points for the bread and then leave and more come in. This is a very inexpensive activity which is a welcomed surprise for Hawaii.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were there later in the day and there was not much to do. The shopping was closing up and did not look very good. The luau was starting and seemed very large. I would suggest a luau on a beach location. The sunset and water is the best part of the event. The store and tasting room was not that interesting. I do not know why this is rated so highly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YES DO THIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Enjoy the grounds, tours and luau. One of the best luau's on the island! Loved the atmosphere and history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilohana Plantation Estate also viewed

 

Been to Kilohana Plantation Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilohana Plantation Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.