We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Small hotel of budget chain but very clean and you can be sure the you receive good quality of services. Pick room with view towards the mountains its beautiful. Wi-fi is fo free. Only issue we had with accomodatio is with location, we didnt rent a car and expected that this is center of town but its more lively in harbour areas so without car rent there.

Room Tip: if you have car stay here if you dont choose hotel near harbour area. Pick room with view towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    67
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
27
83
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

In case you don't know - Kauai has a LOT of chickens. The wild roosters crow when they want, don't be thinking they only crow at dawn..

The Kauai Palms is an old school hotel. There is no elevator. If you're staying on the 2nd floor, you lug your bags up and down. Not all rooms have air conditioning, but there are ceiling fans and louvered windows to let any breeze through. Clean but small rooms. The ladies at the front desk were great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here the first night we arrived. It is great because it is near the airport if you don't want to drive far after arriving. Also why pay for a night at a more expensive place if your just gunna sleep and leave to go explore the island early? It is in a quite corner of town with a view of some beautiful mountains. We payed for a premium room which meant it had A/C. A/C is always a must for my wife. The room looked like it had been recently renovated. It was small but very nice. It had everything we needed and was literally 8 steps from the parking lot. And did I mention this is one of the cheapest hotels on the island? Also we forgot our passports in the room after checking out and and they were incredibly helpful in contacting us and arranging for us to pick them up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Palms for two nights 10/17 – 10/18 because of a late night flight and we could not check into our resort until 10/19. It was a great choice close to the airport, friendly accommodating staff, and clean room. It was also convent for what we wanted to do for our 1st two days, explore the west and south shores.
The rooms are basic we had one with a small kitchenette and AC but without a telephone, room 23.
It was quit during most of the night did get the rosters crowing early in the morning, but we spend a lot of time in the Philippines so this was nothing new. I like the location, the staff and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rated excellent based on value, friendly and helpful staff and cozy, clean rooms. This is a small quaint and charming hotel with natural wake-up calls provided by local roosters. The staff couldn't be more helpful in providing restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel has few amenities but if you're looking for a reasonable place to sleep, shower and have a wonderful cup of coffee in the morning, this is it. Close to the airport in a residential area.

Room Tip: I would stay in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

No frills but very clean and comfortable. The folks at front desk are super nice!
Very clise to the airport. This a perfect place if you dont care for luxury but dont want to sucrifice cleaniness. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon since our rental home was not available until the second night of our trip. We wanted something convenient and inexpensive since it was only for one night. It was super easy to find and check into after a long day of traveling, and having the little kitchenette area gave us lots of room to store/organize our bags. We went down to the beachfront area by the Marriott Lihue and ate dinner at one of the restaurants. We heard some noise from the room next door, and the bathroom was quite small, but the bed was comfortable, and it was everything we needed for one night. Definitely recommend booking a room with A/C!

Room Tip: There are detailed room descriptions on their website that tell which rooms have A/C, kitchenettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.