We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quaint & Charming Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A Quaint & Charming Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rated excellent based on value, friendly and helpful staff and cozy, clean rooms. This is a small quaint and charming hotel with natural wake-up calls provided by local roosters. The staff couldn't be more helpful in providing restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel has few amenities but if you're looking for a reasonable place to sleep, shower and have a wonderful cup of coffee in the morning, this is it. Close to the airport in a residential area.

Room Tip: I would stay in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    67
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
27
83
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lihue
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

No frills but very clean and comfortable. The folks at front desk are super nice!
Very clise to the airport. This a perfect place if you dont care for luxury but dont want to sucrifice cleaniness. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon since our rental home was not available until the second night of our trip. We wanted something convenient and inexpensive since it was only for one night. It was super easy to find and check into after a long day of traveling, and having the little kitchenette area gave us lots of room to store/organize our bags. We went down to the beachfront area by the Marriott Lihue and ate dinner at one of the restaurants. We heard some noise from the room next door, and the bathroom was quite small, but the bed was comfortable, and it was everything we needed for one night. Definitely recommend booking a room with A/C!

Room Tip: There are detailed room descriptions on their website that tell which rooms have A/C, kitchenettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This little hotel is awesome, run by local people with great service and hospitality. If you're the type of tourist who likes to see the local culture, this is your place. There are a couple of really great restaurants close by that are filled with local Hawaians. We stayed 10 days, and you can't beat the price. One day at lunch the entire staff had gathered for a birthday cake for a staff member. Everyone looked so happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel for the following reasons:
- be close to the airport
- on a tight budget
- comfortable bed to sleep in
- able to cook some of your meals
- park close to your room
- helpful staff

then this hotel will meet your needs.

If you are looking for anything more then you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get the bigger room with the A/C and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

....to writing this up as a tripadvisor FAIL on our arrival from the airport. However, after settling in and getting a good nights sleep, I've re-evaluated. Considering the economic value, the (mostly) sweet ladies at the desk and the fact that the purpose of our short stay (to transition into our homeaway the next day) was satisfactorily met.....I've given an 'average' rating. The Palms met our basic minimum needs for the night--but nothing more.

Yes they serve coffee in the morning.....roosters wake you up at 5:30/6:00....coffee service starts at 7:30....the morning lady was semi-rude to my wife when she tried to get some before that magic 7:30 opening bell.....we just walked to Dani's and had our coffee there.

We considered cancelling our reservation to use the Palms as our last night/early flight transition stop, but it wasn't to the point where making that effort while on vacation was worthwhile. Since our flight out was before 7:30--we just planned on picking up our coffee on the way to the airport!


I browsed the photos and they seem to show mostly the larger rooms. I've added two that show the small rooms. The shower is behind the bathroom door and is just big enough for an average size 6' man to be able to turn around in without too much shoulder bumping. Be warned of the toilet! If you are that average guy...your knees may bump the wall and you will need to watch your dangle to prevent a gross-out dip into the absurdly high water!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August, 2013. The best thing I can say about it was that it was near the airport. We thought it might be an interesting, local kind of place to stay. Not! The second best thing I can say about it: it was clean. But it was old, the a/c was noisy, the clientele was on the skivey side. It looked like the kind of place the local government would place formerly homeless people. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauaichelle, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,
I am sorry to hear your stay was not pleasant.
True, this is an older hotel but it is constantly being maintained and renovated to provide the guest's with the amenities that would make their stay comfortable.
It is my goal to provide a clean, safe and affordable accommodation to all who visit here.
I am pleased to have guest's from Europe, Japan, Australia and even locally. Visitors come from all over the world.
I do hope you enjoyed Kauai and it's beauty and you will someday come back to visit the island.
Thank you for letting me know of your concerns with the hotel. Every comment helps me to provide better service.
Mahalo,
Maria Lau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.