We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel and excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very basic hotel and excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is clean, and charming, and close to the airport. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.
The "locals" are also very friendly and always willing to help. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    47
    16
    12
See reviews for
30
99
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I do recommend this hotel if you don't need anything fancy. It's comfortable and quiet, and the staff is awesome!
A friend and I stayed for six nights in one of the kitchenette rooms. We had two twin beds, a nice little kitchen with sink, fridge, counter and microwave. Bowls, plates, utensils, knives and cutting board were all included. The shower was great, and the space was adequate for the two of us.
We loved staying there, because it was a perfect spot to get to the west beaches, as well as the north shore. We spent time in every part of the island. On Friday there was a fun art night in Hanapepe.
The Kauai Palms Hotel is conveniently located near the airport. We were able to have a nice beach morning in Poipu before our flight out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is very basic but it is clean. The room is very small. If you travel alone, that's fine but otherwise, it may be an issue. If you want air condition in your room, you need to get an upgraded room which we did but we thought that they would give us a room on the upper floor but the upgrade is for the air condition. You get what you pay for: a basic small room (but the shower worked very well in our room). And yes, the roosters wake you up early every morning!! I have to say that I agree with the other reviewers, the service is fine. The woman gave us very good tips for eating (Nawiliwili Bay). The restaurants around are not interesting.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the rooms with the air condition if you absolutely need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I'm a pilot for a living so i'm very familar with numerous hotels and their pros and cons. This is a low cost hotel, think Motel 6 or similar. Having said that, it's clean, charming and the customer service is very good. People are friendly, laid back and helpful. There's a parking area on the "inside" lot which I recommend. If your plan is to explore the island and go to the hotel for sleep, shower and basic necessities this is a great deal. If you're planning on staying at your hotel most of your stay in Kauaii I'd say look for a resort style hotel with a nice pool, bar, etc. It'll cost you much more though. Overall a 4 out of 5 simply because the amenities are somewhat dated, still clean and reliable though so this is a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunaloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No beach, No pool, No frills. Small room. Small price. Clean and friendly. This small hotel is located near the city center. 5 minutes from the airport. Try the fresh Kaua'i coffee brewed every morning. This is where the locals stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Good base hotel not far from the airport. You can even walk (some 30 min) from the terminal. Free coffee in the morning, basic clean rooms, could get noisy in the morning. Its ok place for a short stay, for longer stays if you have car consider some of the private accommodation on the island (I user afterwards a different place for 2/3 of this hotel price and 3xnicer). Would stay again if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The rooms were clean and the area was quiet. Try to go on priceline to get the lowest price you can because it is worth about that. There is a great asian resturant two blocks away that is real reasonable. I was there for two nights until my condo was ready and I was traveling solo so it was OK. Heck you are in Hawaii and why would you want to hand in the room !

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go up the the Aston Ocean up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#2 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.