We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying With Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Like Staying With Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

For 8 nights, we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Millie, Mokihana, and staff at the Kauai Palms Hotel. Our room 23 had a king size bed, small kitchen with sink, ref., microwave, dishes, pots, pans, and silverware. it had a ceiling fan and a window AC. Originally, the hotel had rented our reserved room 25 but were quick to offer room 23, which was a great alternative, also on the 2nd floor. The next day, we had a beautiful tropical flower arrangement in our room. The hotel has beach mats, snorkel gear, sunscreen, beach chairs, small surf boards, etc. for loan. Upon returning from our day's activities, most always either Mokihana, Millie, or another staff member would ask how we enjoyed the day - true Aloha is practiced at the Kauai Palms Hotel. The laundry facilities and wifi worked flawlessly. While we enjoyed the cool breezes and the rustling palm trees at night, sometimes we had to use the AC because of the roosters (3am wake up call), the late planes taking off at the airport 2 miles away, or the trucks backing up (beep, beep). It all added to the atmosphere and we had the option of fresh air or AC.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a good room because it is somewhat isolated, freshly painted, clean, and has all the amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
30
100
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, ME
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently stayed here and deemed it Camp Kauai. It is like a summer camp. We rented two rooms (19 and 21) and both had single beds. In 21 the beds weren't even side by side! One of the reasons we stayed here was because it said it had a barbeque. The first night when I asked they said no. The next day (I spoke to owner) and they had one chained out back and it looked like it hadn't been used for years! It is a misrepresentation.
The place was clean. The staff was friendly but the rooms were very small. My friend called his shower unit the Hobbit. It had small bar refrigs. They had free Kauai coffee in mornings and free computer access in lobby. There are some close by restaurants when you walk thru the back alley. It was cheap for the area but remember you are not near any water or anything other than the town area.
Parking on the corner was sketchy too. The thought of my rental getting nailed was disturbing and made me nervous all night long. Park inside the back lot. I would not recommend this place at all. There are so many better places in Kauai go somewhere near the beaches. There are roosters crowing all night long too!

( I would give it a below average instead of a poor if that were available).

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkrmjl, Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we value your feedback. It is always a pleasure to meet and greet new friends. Our hotel is reasonably priced and we take great pride in our Aloha spirit and our cleanliness, thank you for noticing!! We do hope you come back to Kauai one day!
Mahalo Nui Loa, Kauai Palms Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We needed to find a place to stay for our last two nights on Kauai since our Poipu hotel could not accommodate our full stay. We chose Kauai Palms since it was close to the airport and a great price. I must admit we held our breath when we got there but it turned out to be perfectly fine. It is very clean and sufficiently comfortable. The staff was helpful and gracious. We also explored the neighborhood restaurants based upon the LA Times review of "good eats under $20" on Kauai. We liked Dani's for breakfast, lihue barbecue inn and the saimin restaurant on same block as lihue barbecue. Great food, great value and yes we had saimin for dinner for $16.30 for the two of us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The service is wonderful, especially the woman at the desk, who is extremely sympatic.
The room is clean and you will get everything you need. Plus it is very quiet and there is a kitchinette wich we didnt even expected. Best value on the island! Would recommand!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
124 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located in the heart of Lihue, you are close to many historic sites. Walking distance to many local resyaurants, including Hamura's Saimin , and Pha Kauai . Staff is wonderful, and can give directions to desirable destinations.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are higher in altitude. Some rooms do not have air conditioners. Some rooms have kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I wanted too book our first night on the island close to the airport. These reviews sounded like the Kauai Palms would fit that bill. It did. Yes the room was small and the walls and door paper thin but it was reasonable, clean and had free wifi. Which was a real commodity on Kauai turns out. Roosters woke us every night on Kauai and this was no exception. But there aren't many affordable options on this island. This fit the bill perfectly. Nice welcome after the horror show of Alamo.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Kauai Palms during the holidays and it suited our needs. Clean room, good internet, great coffee, great view from our porch. Reminded me of a roadside "tourist court" from the 1960s. Very friendly staff!!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#2 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.