We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp Kauai” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Berwick, ME
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Camp Kauai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently stayed here and deemed it Camp Kauai. It is like a summer camp. We rented two rooms (19 and 21) and both had single beds. In 21 the beds weren't even side by side! One of the reasons we stayed here was because it said it had a barbeque. The first night when I asked they said no. The next day (I spoke to owner) and they had one chained out back and it looked like it hadn't been used for years! It is a misrepresentation.
The place was clean. The staff was friendly but the rooms were very small. My friend called his shower unit the Hobbit. It had small bar refrigs. They had free Kauai coffee in mornings and free computer access in lobby. There are some close by restaurants when you walk thru the back alley. It was cheap for the area but remember you are not near any water or anything other than the town area.
Parking on the corner was sketchy too. The thought of my rental getting nailed was disturbing and made me nervous all night long. Park inside the back lot. I would not recommend this place at all. There are so many better places in Kauai go somewhere near the beaches. There are roosters crowing all night long too!

( I would give it a below average instead of a poor if that were available).

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkrmjl, Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we value your feedback. It is always a pleasure to meet and greet new friends. Our hotel is reasonably priced and we take great pride in our Aloha spirit and our cleanliness, thank you for noticing!! We do hope you come back to Kauai one day!
Mahalo Nui Loa, Kauai Palms Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    74
    42
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
92
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We needed to find a place to stay for our last two nights on Kauai since our Poipu hotel could not accommodate our full stay. We chose Kauai Palms since it was close to the airport and a great price. I must admit we held our breath when we got there but it turned out to be perfectly fine. It is very clean and sufficiently comfortable. The staff was helpful and gracious. We also explored the neighborhood restaurants based upon the LA Times review of "good eats under $20" on Kauai. We liked Dani's for breakfast, lihue barbecue inn and the saimin restaurant on same block as lihue barbecue. Great food, great value and yes we had saimin for dinner for $16.30 for the two of us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The service is wonderful, especially the woman at the desk, who is extremely sympatic.
The room is clean and you will get everything you need. Plus it is very quiet and there is a kitchinette wich we didnt even expected. Best value on the island! Would recommand!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located in the heart of Lihue, you are close to many historic sites. Walking distance to many local resyaurants, including Hamura's Saimin , and Pha Kauai . Staff is wonderful, and can give directions to desirable destinations.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are higher in altitude. Some rooms do not have air conditioners. Some rooms have kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I wanted too book our first night on the island close to the airport. These reviews sounded like the Kauai Palms would fit that bill. It did. Yes the room was small and the walls and door paper thin but it was reasonable, clean and had free wifi. Which was a real commodity on Kauai turns out. Roosters woke us every night on Kauai and this was no exception. But there aren't many affordable options on this island. This fit the bill perfectly. Nice welcome after the horror show of Alamo.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Kauai Palms during the holidays and it suited our needs. Clean room, good internet, great coffee, great view from our porch. Reminded me of a roadside "tourist court" from the 1960s. Very friendly staff!!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I went to kauai for our honeymoon and did not plan on spending much time at our hotel since we wanted to explore the island. We were also on a budget and the Kauai Palms was perfect for just that. I usually have a hard time getting comfortable at night but the bed was so comfortable! You might want to get a room with an A/C to muffle out the sound of the roosters other wise they will wake you at 4:00 am. There is a local breakfast/lunch place within a few blocks walking distance as well as a nice beach and shopping strip mall with other restaurants if you don't mind walking about 2 miles each way. We did this the first day until we were able to rent a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.