We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean and good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean and good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The room is small. I am very happy with the level of cleaniness. Everything looks new and modern and super clean. Small charm place for a budget stay. We extended a night stay in Kauai and the hotel we were at were sold out for the last night due to late booking, so I just picked a place close to the airport for a night stay. This place is beyond what I expected for the price. Very happy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    66
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
26
83
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Private
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

For a first time visit to Kaua'i on a budget this location suited my needs. However, I will definitely look for other accommodations the next time I travel. I always stay in locations under a $100 a night, so I am pretty tolerant. I did not sleep well the ENTIRE week due to the noise. Also, the cleaning service was spotty. The upkeep is nice, but the condition of the towels and overlooking basic cleaning caused me to question.I am going to take the pros and cons approach:

Pros: Cons:
Nightly Rate Traffic noise from staff and locals
Location Loud pipe system when other guests take a shower
Amenities (see below) Noisy refrigerator (I was befuddled too.)
Upkeep Sometimes hearing neighboring guests talking
Roosters crowing

Amenities: in room refrigerator, cable, complimentary coffee, lobby microwave, lobby internet, laundry and ice facilities

I would say that although this was not suitable for me, others may find this location the ideal budget option. Perhaps upgrading to a large room would have made the difference. I was in the smallest room: 6-9 right next to the parking area. If you choose to stay, around the corner there are two highly recommended local spots: a BBQ place next to Robert's jewelry and a noodle place across the street. I tried the local BBQ place and it was AWESOME! They are perfect after a long day of sightseeing. Just walk around the corner down the side street. It looks scary, but there are no scary alleyways in Hawai'i.

Oh! One more tip. The refrigerator is exceptionally small. Do not anticipate storing large amounts of foods. Also, perishable items must be sealed and placed at the back or they will spoil.

Okay last tip, if you are traveling during the rainy season. The rain is most prevalent on the north and east sides of the islands. I experienced this personally. The south and west side rarely sees rain. The only draw back is that you have to drive further to head east or north. The majority of the beautiful beaches and shopping is heading North. Lihue is exactly in the middle, so the longest drive is an hour to the end of the highway in either direction.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 6-9 next to the front office and parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

What a superb property and superb staff. I was a little worried about getting a non air conditioned room, but it was amazing. In fact the non air con rooms on the ground floor don't get the natural breezes. It was perfect, comfortable, clean, LCD TV, toiletries, fridge, ceiling fan. Things looked relatively new and for the price - it's great. There are also plenty of food options nearby including one of Lihue's most famous next door. Ample parking at the front of the property - not sure what people were complaining about in earlier posts and the property was full too.

The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful - there are on-site laundry facilities, tea/coffee, and yes there are roosters, which make noise early in the morning, but there are Roosters everywhere in Lihue and Kauai - so you can't escape it, trust me.

Overall price/value proposition can't be beat, highly recommended, A+++

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor without the air cond, careful the month though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel offers basic rooms, with AC, TV, Coffee maker, microwave oven, sink, refrigerator and a hotplate. Clean bathrooms, free parking and open WiFi was also a happy surprise.

Kauai Palms is just a 5 minutes drive from Lihue airport.

The staff was friendly and so was the owners(?) cat, Princess, which screamed outside my room until I open and said hi!

The vending machine provides you with Pepsi etc 24/7 for 1.50 USD. Free computer with Internet access is available in the lobby.

The location isn't perfect, but the Island is small so it's not an issue. We decided to live here for our two last night because of the easy access to the airport. A good choice. Beachfront wasn't important as we travelled around a lot, as most people do on Kauai.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights. The small ground floor room had twin beds converted to a very comfortable king bed.
The bathroom was small, but updated with new tiled shower and sink. Very clean. Quiet location. No stores, restaurants within walking distance, so a car is a must. Friendly staff. No sleeping in - the roosters will wake you, but they are part of the island.
This is a nice, well maintained, small hotel - no pool, beach, but a nice place to call home while visiting Kauai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were on Kauai and needed a quick place to stay one additional night. We’d used several of the places along the beach in Kapaa and found them a little worn out and impersonal for our tastes. So we decided to try the Kauai Palms Hotel in downtown Lihue. The price was right. The staff was friendly. When the need arises again to spend a quick night on Kauai, I think we will return to the Kauai Palms.

We were in room 12. Inside, it felt nearly new and very clean. The paint was fresh, the bathroom fixtures sparkled, the tile floor was clean, and the bedspread had no signs of wear. There were other clues that suggest the room itself is at least a half century old. Obviously, the property manager takes fine care. And we enjoyed the mix of old and new. The room was simple with a queen bed, chair, night stand, ceiling fan, window AC, refrigerator, microwave, and a couple pieces of art on the walls. The bath towels were delightfully soft and generous sized. The internet worked exceptionally well.

Potential first time visitors should be on alert that the Kauai Palms Hotel is in a very old section of town. Nearby homes and businesses are in need of exterior maintenance. And while exterior maintenance of the Kauai Palms Hotel seemed well cared for, the exterior felt tired and dated [thereby fitting in nicely with the neighborhood].

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I drove 10 minutes from the airport to Kauai Palms Hotel. The staff was first class all the way with service beyond normal duty. One of our misplaced bags had to be delivered from the airport and the ladies at the front desk received it for us while we were out to dinner at a good restaurant they had recommended. We were only there overnight, as we checked into our condo the next day. Our stay was convenient, economical,comfortable, clean and quiet, as we had an air conditioned room. This is a small old time hotel which is lovingly maintained and run, making it a great find for a night or a week.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.