We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money hotel in Lihue, 5 mins from Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
London
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Great value for money hotel in Lihue, 5 mins from Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

What a superb property and superb staff. I was a little worried about getting a non air conditioned room, but it was amazing. In fact the non air con rooms on the ground floor don't get the natural breezes. It was perfect, comfortable, clean, LCD TV, toiletries, fridge, ceiling fan. Things looked relatively new and for the price - it's great. There are also plenty of food options nearby including one of Lihue's most famous next door. Ample parking at the front of the property - not sure what people were complaining about in earlier posts and the property was full too.

The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful - there are on-site laundry facilities, tea/coffee, and yes there are roosters, which make noise early in the morning, but there are Roosters everywhere in Lihue and Kauai - so you can't escape it, trust me.

Overall price/value proposition can't be beat, highly recommended, A+++

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor without the air cond, careful the month though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    67
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
27
83
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel offers basic rooms, with AC, TV, Coffee maker, microwave oven, sink, refrigerator and a hotplate. Clean bathrooms, free parking and open WiFi was also a happy surprise.

Kauai Palms is just a 5 minutes drive from Lihue airport.

The staff was friendly and so was the owners(?) cat, Princess, which screamed outside my room until I open and said hi!

The vending machine provides you with Pepsi etc 24/7 for 1.50 USD. Free computer with Internet access is available in the lobby.

The location isn't perfect, but the Island is small so it's not an issue. We decided to live here for our two last night because of the easy access to the airport. A good choice. Beachfront wasn't important as we travelled around a lot, as most people do on Kauai.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights. The small ground floor room had twin beds converted to a very comfortable king bed.
The bathroom was small, but updated with new tiled shower and sink. Very clean. Quiet location. No stores, restaurants within walking distance, so a car is a must. Friendly staff. No sleeping in - the roosters will wake you, but they are part of the island.
This is a nice, well maintained, small hotel - no pool, beach, but a nice place to call home while visiting Kauai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were on Kauai and needed a quick place to stay one additional night. We’d used several of the places along the beach in Kapaa and found them a little worn out and impersonal for our tastes. So we decided to try the Kauai Palms Hotel in downtown Lihue. The price was right. The staff was friendly. When the need arises again to spend a quick night on Kauai, I think we will return to the Kauai Palms.

We were in room 12. Inside, it felt nearly new and very clean. The paint was fresh, the bathroom fixtures sparkled, the tile floor was clean, and the bedspread had no signs of wear. There were other clues that suggest the room itself is at least a half century old. Obviously, the property manager takes fine care. And we enjoyed the mix of old and new. The room was simple with a queen bed, chair, night stand, ceiling fan, window AC, refrigerator, microwave, and a couple pieces of art on the walls. The bath towels were delightfully soft and generous sized. The internet worked exceptionally well.

Potential first time visitors should be on alert that the Kauai Palms Hotel is in a very old section of town. Nearby homes and businesses are in need of exterior maintenance. And while exterior maintenance of the Kauai Palms Hotel seemed well cared for, the exterior felt tired and dated [thereby fitting in nicely with the neighborhood].

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I drove 10 minutes from the airport to Kauai Palms Hotel. The staff was first class all the way with service beyond normal duty. One of our misplaced bags had to be delivered from the airport and the ladies at the front desk received it for us while we were out to dinner at a good restaurant they had recommended. We were only there overnight, as we checked into our condo the next day. Our stay was convenient, economical,comfortable, clean and quiet, as we had an air conditioned room. This is a small old time hotel which is lovingly maintained and run, making it a great find for a night or a week.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The front desk staff was great. Both women were really nice and helpful. They even printed out my airline boarding pass for 25 cents using the office computer, because I couldn't figure out how to do it from the guest computer. The hotel itself is clean. However, there were some ants around the sink in the bathroom, which was cured by spraying bug spray, which I got from the front desk. The location is right in Lihue town, which is a mile from the airport, so for an overnight stay it's good. The room I had was a good size with 2 twin beds, a microwave, hotplate and small sink area. However, the walls are thin, and I could hear the television from the next room. Not all rooms have air, so I upgraded to one with air. Definitely not a luxury hotel, but can't beat the price and customer service.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with air-also ask for a room on the second floor as the building is wood, so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I found this place some years ago while car camping. My car broke down, and it was raining, as it had been for two days. I was so glad to find an affordable, clean, nice place right in the middle of town, so I could walk to places to eat, the store, etc..

This last time I had a dawn flight and wanted the space and location to get ready to fly out. In my haste to make it out in the morning, and not needing them at the time, I forgot my sunglasses, and they were kind enough to send them to me on the mainland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.