We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the inbetween nights...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Oregon coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location for the inbetween nights...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I found this place some years ago while car camping. My car broke down, and it was raining, as it had been for two days. I was so glad to find an affordable, clean, nice place right in the middle of town, so I could walk to places to eat, the store, etc..

This last time I had a dawn flight and wanted the space and location to get ready to fly out. In my haste to make it out in the morning, and not needing them at the time, I forgot my sunglasses, and they were kind enough to send them to me on the mainland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    67
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
27
83
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night this August. We had a long flight over and didn't Have access to our northshore condo we had rented until the day after we arrived.
This hotel is a small two story hotel. We had two rooms, one on the main floor and one on the second floor. For both of the rooms it was $95, which we thought was an excellent price!!
The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from the airport, the lady running the front desk when we arrived was very pleasant and helpful. They offer free continental breakfast, or you can just do what we did and pop downstairs to grab a coffee and go out for breakfast.
There was an AC unit in the first floor room, no AC in the second floor room, however there was a better breeze upstairs: both rooms did have ceiling fans though! You will be woken up by e roosters...but they are every in KauAi...you get used to it.
The beds were pretty comfortable, bathrooms were a decent size, and the rooms were both Very clean!

Overall our stay was great, especially for the price, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I loved staying at Kauai Palms. Corrina the GM was kind and gracious when I arrived tired. She was helpful guiding me around via maps and conversation. My room was small, cozy and wonderfully clean and rennovated. Amazingly, the price was within my skinny budget. It was withing walking distance to the beach and airport (if you like to walk). The hotel kitty Princess was delightful, coffee excellent, computer always available, and the lobby was so comfortable. Corrina and I had a lovely long chat as she waited with me for my exiting taxi. The area is safe and comfortable. I checked excellent pool but I dont think there was a pool. I will be back! Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I booked the room on-line and didn't realize that the front desk closed for the evening at 9pm so it' a good thing I looked at my confirmation receipt because our flight had been delayed and we weren't going to make the 9pm closing time. I called and spoke to someone (forgot her name) and explained our situation and was told that they would get back to me. Well, someone eventually did get back to me and we worked out the key situation, so that was a plus.

Location is good, near the airport and right in Lihue and within walking distance to restaurants. You wouldn't know that the hotel was there because you have to go down a side street - also because we got in late there was no noticable parking available however, on another little street in the back of the property there was additional parking. We had a end room near the road on the ground floor with a king bed and two single beds and a kitchen area - microwave, mini refrigerator, hot plate, silverware, plates but no pans. Of course we didn't need to cook but if we needed it was available. Room had an air conditioning unit which was near one of the beds (a little noisy but okay). The room was clean and simple. The bathroom was small but had the complimentary toiletry items (lotion, soap, shampoo) which was nice and there was a large closet with lots of hangers.

The hotel is older so the insulation isn't the best so we could hear conversations going on from other rooms but nothing overwhelming but did I mention the roosters? Well, they do go off but I don't think the hotel has any control over that. The property itself reminded me of being on a plantation with lots of foliage and greenery.

Overall, nothing amazing but if you are looking for an good value, clean room, and good location, Kauai Palms fits the ticket.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Jean, Québec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were in Kaua’i in July 2012 and we needed a place to stay for our first two nights and for our last night on the island. We couldn’t have chosen a better place! The rooms are small but clean, the hotel is at a five minutes drive from the airport, five minutes drive from Kalapaki beach. In a five minutes walking range there are four or five good, not expensive little restaurants, a convenience store with a good selection of beers, and the Kaua’i museum. They also have free internet access and free coffee and muffins in the morning. But the best about this place is the staff. I’ve traveled quite a bit, and I have never encountered a more friendly, smiling and helpful staff! We felt like we were members of the family visiting. They go out of their way to help you and it’s not because the official policy of the hotel says that they have to provide you with this or that. It’s simply because they are nice people who like what they do and who like people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Are you looking for a big fancy resort on the beach in Kauai? This isn't your place. However, if you want a nice clean room at a hotel with great customer service at a reasonable price, this place is a great call. We had stayed at a private residence for a week on Kauai, and just needed an extra night of accomidations. I saw the high ratings in trip advisor and decided to give Kauai Palms a try. It's an older property, but clearly the current owners have made numerous upgrades, everything was clean, every contact with the staff was pleasant, and we felt like the price was right. I would have rather been here for a week than at the private residence that we had rented. I would stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We wanted a place to stay for one nite before we left Kauai. The location is great! It is a quick drive to the airport (5min ) and one block to Hamura's Saimin ( a must if you like saimin or Lilikoi chiffon pie).
The room is very small as well as the shower, but it is also CLEAN and had the convenience of a small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The air conditioning was sufficient and worked well. I would stay here again also. It works for one or two people. The staff is friendly and you will wake up to roosters, but no big deal. The staff is extremely nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for airconditioning .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.