We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRUCE WILLIS LOVES IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Palms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Lihue, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BRUCE WILLIS LOVES IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I showed up, looking like Tom Sawyer - after spending some time in Kalalau. The staff helped me in a million ways, with retrieving my valuables from North Shore, to directing me on where to go for jobs, etc. Corrina was like Wonder Woman - going above the call of duty to help out. The rooms are great, very nice! And it is close enough to the airport to walk here, easy 15 minute walk. Its beautifully located near restaurants, parks, and the Salvation Army - if you need some local goods. Bruce Willis is actually hanging out right now under the porch, watching the rain fall.

Room Tip: If you want to buy food from the local stores and cook it, be sure to ask for a kitchen unit in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    74
    42
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
92
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We finally got to our hotel after a bunch of confusion on our flights - we were late - they were ok with it. The room was comfortable, quiet, clean - we loved it and are recommending it to everyone we know! All three of us thought it was great - Grandma at 69, mom at 48 and son at 15! The hotel personell were wonderful - giving us hints for food and where to visit as it was the first time to the island. Will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: ours was facing the fields and was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

BACKGROUND:
I’m a frequent visitor to Kauai and know the island quite well – from hiking trails to hidden places to hotels. But I didn’t know about Kaua’i Palms until I stumbled upon it here on TA, described in other reviews as one of the best cheap hotels on the island with really kind and helpful staff.

Y’all were spot on!

THE HOTEL:
- The rooms are nice enough and have most of the amenities of a much more expensive resort – fridge, comfy beds, lotions, cable TV, free wifi, all that stuff. No pressing concerns. Yeah, the bathroom’s small, and you might find a bug or two in it, but this place is squeaky clean compared to anywhere else in the same price range. If you’re worried about safety, true, the door’s thin, but let the locals do their thang and they’ll let you do yours, brah. No problem. Plan to wake up VERY early, though, because the Kaua’i roosters won’t let you sleep in…but that’s the case everywhere, so welcome to Kaua’i ;)
- From the outside, it’s not the grandest place, and no, it’s not one of Kauai’s primo resorts, but dude -- you ain’t paying for that. It’s quaint and cozy, and it gets the job done.
- No pool or hot tub on site, but you can always ‘visit’ the big resorts…just sayin’…
- Free breakfast, and, oh yeah…kitties! Pet them in the morning!

LOCATION:
- Close to most of the useful stuff in Lihu’e, but just far enough off the beaten path to not be too loud. Lots of local favorite restaurants (Garden Island Barbeque, Hamura Saimin, etc.) within a block or two. Awesome!
- 5 minute drive from Kalapaki Beach. Pretty view of a mountain ridge from your room. No, you can’t see sand from your bed, but if you could, you’d be paying twice as much.
- 2 miles from the airport is nice – easy in/out.
- Remember that Lihu’e is on the eastern side of the island, so expect more rain than Po’ipu and the western shores, but not as much as the north. It’s a great base camp for being able to access both sides of the island. Another plus.

THE STAFF:
- As everyone else has been raving, this is KPH’s cherry on top. The people who run the place are all awesome, kind, and helpful. They actually care about you and want to make your visit great – and they have the locals’ insight on all those lesser known trails, beaches, and restaurants that you will without a doubt stop by at the end of your trip to thank them for. Need to borrow some beach gear? Even fuel for a campstove? No problem, they’ve got it in the back room. They also stored my bag for me for four days while I hiked to Kalalau Valley – extremely helpful. Like the heart in a Pixar movie, it really gives the hotel a personal touch. I met a few locals in Hamura’s, the nearby saimin restaurant, who wouldn’t believe I didn’t live in Hawaii since I knew about this hotel. Actually, just last week, I was chatting with a family friend; we were talking about our hiking adventures in Hawaii. He said on his first night he stayed in a little place in Lihu’e, said that place had the nicest staff he’d ever met and even let him borrow fuel for his campstove.
“Hey,” I said – “I think I’ve stayed there, too! Kauai Palms?”
“Yeah! Whoa, how’d you know?!”
True story, man. :)

BOTTOM LINE:
Remember how Google first advertised their Chrome web browser? It emphasizes the search bar to help you find what you’re looking for, then gets out of your way to let you browse the web as YOU want.

In hotel terms, this is Kauai Palms. If you’ve come to Kauai to spend your entire trip inside a luscious beach resort, fine, empty your wallet at the beautiful Marriott or Hyatt. But if you’d rather SEE the island, and just have a bed and helpful staff to come home to, KPH fits the bill perfectly.

Would I stay here again? DUH -- of course!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Close to the airport and reasonably priced. The staff is nice. Definitely noisy and otherwise not very impressive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We needed a room for one night before our check in at our Condo. And it was a crap shot!
but turned out to be absolutely great! LOVED IT! Local good food around the corner open late, room clean. Could be a little noisy with front parking, but it wasn't this night. Make sure to get room with cross ventilation. The Staff were very nice and helpful... Woke up with the chickens! fyi bring your earplugs. Be sure to try the chicken or beef sticks at the "Saimin noodle Restaurant" and TipTop Restaurant for Breakfast. Two big thumbs up.
Aloha!
The Villa Familia
Cerritos, CA

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Great place to stay. The location is probably 2 miles to the beach which was not that great but the rest was very good. Clean and comfortable rooms, good comfort. What i liked the most about that place was how kind the managers are. Desiree is the name of the Front office manager, she was very kind offered us free muffins and coffee and made us feel very, very welcome. Corrina is the GM at that place she was very nice too and showed us the best things to do on kauai and showed us even some hidden trails.
We had a blast

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a great place for my wife and I to stay for six days on Kauai. It's close to the airport/rental car agencies and the large stores on Kauai. Also, it is midway between the two ends of Kauai: the Na Pali Coast and Waimea Canyon. Our room was simple, with no AC, but nice breezes and an overhead fan, and very affordable. Everything was very clean.
What really makes this such a great place is the people who run it—very friendly local people who genuinely want to help you have a great time on Kauai. For us, that's perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.