We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights in this resort, plenty to do, with enough space to find somewhere for a relaxing time if you want that also. The pool area was huge, with 5 spas and 3 bars servicing it (although not simultaneously). Food/beverages were a bit on the high side but there are also nearby bars and restaurants with more modest prices.
We hired a car through the on-site Enterprise office, The staff member (Anthony) was extremely courteous and helpful, and they offered a 15% discount as hotel guests.
All in all the Marriott was a very good place to stay, and for convenience (car hire, parking, proximity to shops, bars restaurants and the airport) second to none.
Also, the Marriott offers a free shuttle service between the hotel and the airport. Perfect!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    610
    221
    105
    65
See reviews for
414
925
32
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time! Finally, a Marriott Resort establishment that took care of Platinum members. Jamie Fletcher and the rest of her staff are wonderful and very accommodating. Amenities are great, pool is awesome and the beach is spectacular. Would definitely come back and would recommend this hotel for those looking for a relaxing time at the Garden Island. Mahalo!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days, I wish we could have stayed longer.
It is a beautiful setting, the rooms are lovely and the pool is sensational.
There are many activities to entertain you every day, or, if you prefer to relax, you can do your own thing. There is a little push to attend a timeshare session, but easy to avoid.
There are many restaurants and bars in the hotel, although just around the corner we found many more restaurants and bars on Rice Street that were well worth a visit, at very reasonable prices.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days and really enjoyed it. The resort is close to the airport but you don't hear the planes, only the helicopters in the late morning as they take off for their tours. It's centrally located for doing activities on either the North or South shores, and is within 10 minutes of major shopping if you have a car.

For those who just want to stay on the property, they have activities going every day and include things such as yoga, Hawaiian language lessons, snorkel lessons, tattoos and a weekly evening movie on the beach. There were a lot of kids there but they must have had families separate from couples because I only heard them at the pool or in some of the public areas like the beach. They also have rental cars available if you should decide to venture out, and a day spa for that massage on the beach, which was great!

The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the room was clean, modern and quite comfortable. There are some decent spots to eat within walking distance and an ABC store as well. The bay itself was fun to gaze at from the beach, pool or room. It changes throughout the day from where the swells and flats are, to the activities you see, to the cruise ship being tugged through it. We saw SUP, outrigger racing, surfing, snorkel boats, kayaks and simply swimming. They also have a golf course. The entire property is maintained eco beautifully.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La verne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel gives you a grand feeling as soon as you pull up to the hotel! The grounds are so lush and green and just too gorgeous for words to explain! I had a blast at this hotel! Amazing pool area! I keep putting exclamation points after everything I say because I just can't express every wonderful thing this resort has to offer! Lol This resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops including one of my personal favorites - the fabulous abc stores! ( I have not been able to pin point why I exactly love abc stores but I seriously have like a infatuation with them. No matter how many I see I will always go in one!) Ok back to the marriot resort. Please just go here. I think everyone will love it and I recommend staying here to everyone! One last thing - The views are simply breathing taking here! Thanks marriot resort for doing what you do! ;)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spent 4 days at the Kauai Marriott Resort a couple weeks ago and couldn't have asked for anything better. The location of this hotel is just perfect....only a couple miles from the airport but you never hear the planes. Located right on the beach and the view from our hotel room as just perfect...overlooked the gorgeous pool and the beach as well. Would HIGHLY recommend....

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one overlooking the pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield, CA.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lounge on a very large grassy area or take a few steps to play in the sand and water. Palm trees abound as well as Plumeria, Hibiscus and many other plants and trees. A+ to the groundskeepers!
Rooms were extremely clean and updated. Not real upscale but nice. Staff is friendly and accommodating. To the rear of the property is a lighthouse and part of the golf course. Evenings, you can walk this area and watch the flights just seconds from landing. You do not see the airport. This property is very convenient to get to/from the airport. The children's pool should delight any kid! About 1 1/2' deep with a water slide. Some garden view room patios open onto the lawn and this pool.
This is not a quiet resort in June!! The large pool, eateries, 2 bars and resort activities can keep guests going, whether 8 or 80! Our garden room opened up to the kids pool w/partial ocean view through the foliage.
With the patio door closed we heard nothing, so you can count on quiet in your room.
The beach is nice but gets way too crowded (in my opinion) as this is a public beach. We noticed people setting up tents and canopies, setting out lounging chairs, dogs running (we liked that!) and the family tote wagons full of the days needs plus the portable bbqs! Everything but the kitchen sink! Everyone appeared to be having a great time. Hotel chaise loungers were used by the general public but there's plenty to go around. It would be nice if hotel parking was reserved/monitored for guests only instead of the general public taking the majority of the parking. This particular area ( to the rear of our tower ) was the only area that was a parking nightmare.

Room Tip: Some patio 1st floor rooms: Walking out of your sliding glass door, onto the grass to the pool or b...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not notice anything out of the ordinary concerning this.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.