We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, huge pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location, huge pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed over Christmas break in a timeshare rented through redweek. Beautiful view from ocean front two bedroom room, also stayed an extra night in two hotel style rooms. The timeshare rooms are much larger and have a microwave/dishwasher and utensils/plates. The resort was crowded with families on winter break. Most days able to find beach/pool chairs, but people claiming their chairs early in AM. Service was very friendly and helpful. A couple of decent restaurants within walking distance. Would definately stay again, with children. I would not recommend for honeymooners or people without children, unless you choose a time not on school break. Recommend timeshare over hotel room for the extra space and cheaper rates. Hotel rooms could use a good scrub and more detailed cleaning service.

Room Tip: HIgher floors, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    611
    222
    105
    66
See reviews for
419
928
32
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family chose Kauai Marriott on Kalapaki Beach for our vacation in Sep 2013 based on four main factors: the grounds and pools, the location, the price and the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Kauai Marriott resort certainly has the WoW factor. Everything is on a grand scale, the lobby, the koi pond, the pool, the beach. Even our hotel-style room was unexpectedly large and comfortably accommodated our two Tweens and ourselves. We loved the sushi bar, breakfast was fabulous, fresh and staff very friendly. I could not fault a thing, honestly. A couple of other things I should mention, we found parking our rental car in the lot behind our building was a great suggestion by lobby staff & made life easier, the hotel Wifi worked really well everywhere.. Even by the pool. Koi feeding was a delight. Watching the cruise ships come into the harbour nearby was pretty spectacular also. Looking forward to a chance to return.

Room Tip: Pool view or ocean view is definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is a resort hotel that seems 'just a bit bothered' by having to deal with guests. We stayed 10 days, and really felt like 'this ticket is punched' and we do not ever need to return. Kauai was very friendly, but the hotel was colder. Food was OK, not great. The highly recommended Dukes Restaurant on the property was truly not edible - yuck. Homeless people sleeping in the stairways were pretty upsetting.

Room Tip: Near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hospitality and enjoyed every aspect of it: rooms; housekeeping; restaurants; grounds; location and lastly the watching of Koi feeding time every AM.
One suggestion would be remove; relocate or reshape otherwise a 42" high and about 6" wooden ledge w/ shape corners as oppose to rounded corners in a small passage way between the bathroom and living/ sleeping area..

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Solid service, food and amenities high standards, simply can not find anything to complain about this property, I know I will come back again sometime.. only negative is that you may like it so much that you don't get to explore the rest of the island as much as it deserves, so make sure you have enough time for both..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Family of 4 adults and 2 kids are having a fantastic vacation. The Marriott property is a nice family orientated resort. The Ha’upu tower is in a great location for the pool and beach. The rooms are average size and accommodating for a 2 adults and 2 children. The connecting room is good for our extended family. The pool area is very nice. There are ample chairs for guests. The beach area has resort chairs for guests as well. The staff has been has been cordial. If we come back to Kauai we would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We are a family of three that stayed from 18th to 23rd of December 2013. We had a ground floor pool view room which overlooked the Kids pool. At first I was hesitant of that room as it was on the ground floor but it was perfect for our 4 year old ! She made tons of friends playing in the pool and we were able to sit on our lanai sipping cocktails and read a book. The hotel grounds are immaculate and the staff are all very friendly and take great pride in their work. We showed up quite early for our check in and our room was ready which was a great bonus after a 14 hour trip from Hawaii. The hotel was all set for kids and our daughter was given free beach bucket and a some stationary to write a letter to Santa. After she did they brought a response back and candy cane for her. It was the little touches like that, that made this trip so memorable for us. The hotel is located right on Kalapaki Beach which truly is a gorgeous beach and perfect for big and little kids alike.

We at a Dukes quite alot as it was convenient and the bar menu was really reasonable. Some negatives:

1. The kids club is only 5+ so we ended up hiring a nanny from Kauai Babysitting and they were very good.
2. The room was a bit musty, but we kept in mind this is the tropics so can't be picky about that.
3. The hotel restaurants are pricey but a 5 minute walk away you have cheaper alternatives.
4. Parking is a bit annoying, the locals park for free and you pay a $25 resort fee for the privilege.

All in all a great holiday, pool was crystal clear and for how busy the resort was we had an amazing time and never felt crowded or neglected.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are good value we stayed in the Hau'pu tower in room 1522. The room was a bit da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.