We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location for our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Crystal City, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location for our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were a day late getting to the Marriott because of a missed flight out of DFW. The people at the hotel were beyond nice. They were receptive and welcoming. As this was our honeymoon it was our desire to make everything go perfectly. It did.
This hotel is not only nice, it is in the middle of everything. Our room had a view of the pool and the bay area. I could scope out where I wanted to spend my day even before we left the room.
Also, yummy sushi bar at the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    737
    559
    203
    100
    64
See reviews for
369
869
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel and pool are stunning. Elephants with water fountains etc. Dukes restaurant near bye as well. Romantic and plenty of sun action. Drinks by the pool and good service. The water at this resort isn't clear though. It's more dirty than the other places I've stayed in Hawaii. Still nice water and beach, but wish it was blue like Maui and Honolulus. I would def stay here again and the place is great!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gembloux, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Marriott Kauai Resort, a very relaxing place on beautiful Kauai.
We had a great view on the magnificent pool and kalapaki beach. Our room was not very trendy but clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Food was excellent at each of the restaurant we tried and the staff very friendly. We particularly loved Kukui for diner and the grill for lunch; Duke is a little bit too crowded for our taste. The location of the hotel is ideal to visit Kauai; everything is nearby (but you definitivelty need a car to explore). Just a minus point maybe : no parasol at the pool nor at the beach... why not? It would just be perfect with parasols...

Room Tip: opt for an oceanview: views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our first room was a nice view of the pool and water. The beds desperately need to be replaced. The matresses were soft and lumpy and spilled over the edge of the platform they were on. It was like sleeping on a big pillow - my back was killing me after 2 nights so we upgraded to a beautiful suite. The suite was a corner room and had a wonderful king bed and an amazing bathroom and views. Please replace all of your bedding in your regular rooms!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Since our cruise did not come to this island we decided to fly to Kauai for 3 days. Rented a car from the airport (hotel does provide shuttle). I did not know that Enterprise offered cars at the hotel as well, because I would have rented one of those. The hotel is just beautiful the minute you walk in. Check in was slow, and a room was not available. So we stored our luggage, went to breakfast at the hotel and headed out to tour the island. Our room wasn't ready until 3pm. Once again had to stand in line to get the room. Only one person working the elite line so the other line was a lot faster. More people working it. We were offered an oceanview upgrade but wanted us to know that they were in the midst of remodeling that tower. Said they wouldn't be working past 5pm and were in the lower floors. We were on 10th floor. I didn't realize that this was a vacation club hotel as well. We took the upgrade. The room was nice, view absolutely stunning. The room needs a little updating, but was nice and clean. Nice size as well. However if you are offered a room during their refurbishment project and you have children that nap, I would not take it. They started early and worked until 530pm. The concierge staff was very helpful, especially Ryden and Faith. They recommended a nice restaurant for my husbands birthday and made us reservations. We also booked our tour through them. Once again, the resort fee should be looked at by Marriott. We did not receive anything that our platinum status wouldn't have given us. We didn't even get breakfast included. I think for elite status with Marriot they should look at providing some type of "real" perk if you are going to have to pay a resort fee. Staff overall was friendly, hotel layout was beautiful. Had to check out, they didn't provide it under the door as I usually get. Prefer not to have to check out at desk. Another line to stand in (although it was very early when we left, so no line). It was a very enjoyable stay and wished we had planned to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The absolutely best stay during our Hawaii Island hopping vacation!
Extremely friendly and service minded staff in all functions. Already second day we were "old customers" and recognized by everyone.
We had an "ocean view" room with a view over the pool and bay on the top floor.
The "ocean" is actually the Nawiliwili bay surrounded by mountains, but still a very fine view..
Fantastic pool and lovely Kalapaki beach in front of the hotel.
Nice spacy rooms.
Kauai Island is a beautiful place, quiet and relaxing.
Return to this resort? YES!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What an incredible resort! For our first trip to Kauai we were gobsmacked at just how beautiful the place is. We were upgraded on arrival from a garden view room to a partial ocean view room which was much appreciated and a great way to start our trip!

The room was very nice, especially the bed which was super comfortable. We especially loved the view from our balcony – overlooking the enormous pool as well as the ocean. The ocean was a bit of a funny colour, kind of dark brown, though I’m not sure if this was due to recent rain. So needless to say we didn’t go for a swim at the beach, but we spent plenty of time at the pool, which is amazing! Lots of chairs for sunbaking too which was great.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful when we had to deal with them. Kukui’s was great for buffet breakfast, lots of options and quite affordable. We found the staff here (at Kukui's) probably the friendliest at the resort. The staff at the little coffee shop where you can get continental breakfast (I forget what it was cold) weren’t so helpful and stuffed up my order. We also went to Duke’s for dinner one night which was nice, though it was very busy and we had to wait a little while for a table. Definitely give the Hula Pie a try, it’s delicious! Café Portofino was nice too with some delicious (though a little more pricey) Italian food.

My husband played golf here and this was a fantastic experience – he was so excited to be playing on such an incredible course and the views were spectacular. I used the fitness center too which was very well equipped. The free shuttle bus to/from the airport was also a great plus.

We were only on Kauai for 2 days but would have loved to stay longer!! We will definitely return to Kauai and to the Marriott – it has everything you need and more!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kauai Marriott Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha from the Kauai Marriott! On behalf of the staff, I would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation. We are pleased you found our staff and hotel enjoyable, and I look forward to sharing your review with them. We do look forward to welcoming you back, and next time I do hope for longer stay! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.