We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up To 20% Off Resorts
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel looks impressive on first view. And in many ways it is- beautiful ocean front location, huge pool, expansive grounds, but, there were lots of glitches. First, as others have said, check-in was not as simple as it usually is. We have been Marriott members for 12 years and Gold members so one of the perks is that, upon check-in you may request an upgrade for your room. Usually a simple process, they just upgrade you! But this staff person says, "Oh, we have a gorgeous, beautiful room for you and it will only cost you an extra $250 per night! It's usually an extra $400 but, you can have it for this price!" I said I couldn't afford that and didn't want it. So, she says she'd look again and then proceeds to offer me another room that will only be another $195 more per night. At that point, I said, "We've been Marriott members for a very long time and usually when I ask for an upgrade they simply give me an upgrade and there are no additional costs." She looks at me disappointed and says she'll look again and then, upgrades me. Why was that so difficult?! Also, one should know there is a mandatory resort fee that is tacked onto your room cost of $25. The perks are free internet, free parking, two mai tais for your entire stay and some discounts for renting or buying items at the pool. Well, we already get free internet as Gold members, we didn't have a car for the first 4 days and two mai tais for your entire stay are hardly worth it, in my opinion!

Every day we got back to our room, the housekeeping was minimal. The breakfast they offer here could break the bank! My 16 yr old son could eat us out of house and home so, after a few days I said we'd go elsewhere and find a reasonably priced place for him to have all the breakfast he wanted. The breakfast buffet is impressive but, also costs $24.95 per person! I'm not a breakfast person so, wasn't about to venture into that cost. We have been to a lot of Marriotts and often breakfast is "complimentary" meaning it is included in the cost of the room.

One upside is, the airport shuttle. It is free and all one needs to do is call as soon as you arrive and have gathered your bags and they're there for you in minutes. Although the hotel is very close to the airport, you don't feel it while you're staying here.

Anyway, it's a pretty place but, be aware of these things that can really throw you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    534
    195
    98
    64
See reviews for
350
836
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central cove
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I seldom stay in Hotels when I travel for pleasure but circumstances found me spending the last moments of my Kauai vacation here at the Marriott. I used award points for this stay, and I was pleased when I was able to check in a little early and found that they had upgraded me to a king corner suite. This was a very nice suite, the amenities were great, and internet connection was acceptable. The bedding and linens were exceptional. The bell, valet and front desk staff are polite, efficient and very accommodating. This is a great property with great people.

Room Tip: smile, tip and leave attitude at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a beautiful honeymoon at the Marriott Resort Lihue. Only downfall, the pool was not heated so I really didn't get to enjoy swimming much and the rooms lacked character; our suite looked the same as all the other Marriott properties. (My husband stays at a Marriott property 4/5 days per week so we see a lot of hotel rooms.) The gym was amazing!!! We loved the location of the resort close to everything but I would prefer to stay in Poipu next time since the weather was better and it seemed more tropical and full of beautiful beaches. Complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport was helpful.

Service was exceptional, thank you, Levi and the complimentary champagne upon arrival was such a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room in the hotel portion of the resort. There are time share rooms which I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent the first two nights of our trip to Hawaii on our honeymoon at the Marriott Kauai Resort. My husband is a Marriott Rewards member so we used points for our stay. The airport shuttle was convenient to find and use to get to the resort. Checking in was a breeze and the concierge service was helpful in booking our helicopter tour and providing dining recommendations. We had a nice room and view - ocean view room overlooking the pool on the 10th floor in one of the towers. The property is beautiful and well manicured (even the trees in the parking lot). Previous reviews are correct in that all beaches in Hawaii are public so the beach on the resort property is not owned by the hotel. The beach itself was not beachy white sand but a beach nonetheless. I have been to many beaches - as a result I was not very impressed with the beach itself. We preferred the pool (which is large) and various hot tubs around the pool to the beach area. The property has a National Rental Car office and a Jack Harter Helicopter Tour office on site which makes it very convenient to rent a car for the day or to take a helicopter tour. If you would like to see more of the island, or take a boat tour of the Na Pali coast, I recommend renting a car (and during our stay our rental was very inexpensive). I would arrange the rental ahead of time if possible but we were able to get a car just by walking in to rent for a day. We did take a Jack Harter Helicopter tour and it did not disappoint. The resort buffet breakfast was very good (around $50 for two) - it provided a wide variety of food including made to order omelettes. It was also nice to sit outside in the morning and eat a leisurely breakfast. If you are looking for a cheaper breakfast (around $15 for two) you can walk around the property (just off site) to the Beach Hut (which we did one morning to try out). Duke's was very good for dinner. The gift/sundry store located at the resort has everything you could possibly need (including liquor) in case you forget something or want a snack. If you are traveling with kids - there is a fish feeding every morning at 9am and a talking bird nearby as well. We noticed grills in one of the courtyards. If you decide to cook for yourself or keep food in the room there is a Costco and another grocery type store within a mile or so of the hotel. We ordered drinks from the bar near the pool during the day, and also from the sushi bar area in the later afternoon (there was a happy hour with reduced drink prices). Overall, we were very happy with the property, service, our room, the concierge and the location for our short stay on Kauai.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a converted old hotel (1960's) with modern upgrades but the piecemeal building additions that were made over the years makes this a very difficult hotel to navigate. From our wing, it was a convoluted walk to reach the lobby and pool area. Pool area is excellent, though. Hotel sits on a lagoon - great for kids as the waves are not great, but if you want good waves try Poipu. Timeshare rooms do not have a stovetop, only a microwave which really limits the cooking (a reason for having the timeshare in the first place.) What ticked us off was the $10 additional charge for mid-week vacuuming and bed sheet change not included in the change of towels. We have NEVER experienced any timeshare property, including other Marriott's, that charge for this normal service! Two stars only because of this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kauai Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha from the Kauai Marriott Resort and Beach Club! Thank you for sharing your experiences regardng your stay here at our resort. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss further with you if you could please give us a call directly at the resort! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this property for one final evening after a spectacular six days at another resort. We thought that being near the airport would make it easier for us to catch our flight back to the mainland. We definitely should have made another choice. While the room that we were given was very large and had an excellent view of the ocean, it came with the worst hotel check-in experience we've had in many years. The front desk staff appeared to operate with the speed of a glacier. It took us hours to actually get access to our room. In addition, once inside our hotel room, we had to call the bell service desk several times before our luggage was finally delivered. When you are paying a high price for a room (including a resort fee, along with other fees and taxes), it's reasonable to expect an appropriately responsive level of service. We were greatly disappointed by the staff at this property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place aims to please. With the largest swimming pool on the islands it rates as one of the best places on earth to enjoy your honeymoon! The Luau and restaurants were amazing. However you can easily drop a hundred bucks a night if you go for the fresh fish and drinks. Still with it setting right on the ocean it is worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Kauai Marriott
Marriott Kauai
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.