We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful with a few small glitches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Lihue
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful with a few small glitches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott Kauai for seven nights. The hotel is just beautiful. The grounds are well-maintained, clean, and lush. The rooms were ok - Marriott standard with no frills. Be prepared - it is a huge property, so yes, you will do some walking. The pool is beautiful and huge - it never felt crowded. Overall the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

We arrived early and hoped we could check in. No chance. The woman at the desk tried very hard to upsell us to a suite for another $200 per night! After we told her no, she clearly was not interested in finding us a room to check in early. When they say a 4:00 check-in they don't budge - even for Marriott Platinum members.

The resort fee - don't even get me started. Mandatory $25 per night. It includes "free" parking (even though it seems the entire town parks in the lot to use the beach all day), includes "free" internet (although I already get it for free as a platinum member), and a "free" bottle of water in our room every day. Except the cleaning service only left a bottle on three of the seven nights. I am not sure how they justify this added fee.

Food on-property is ok. Breakfast is outrageously, outrageously expensive. $25 for the buffet. If you just want an omelette, juice, and coffee it costs about $23. Just wrong. We ate at Dukes and Cafe Portafino - both quite good. Generally better to eat elsewhere.

Overall we liked the hotel. The resort fee is basically a scam - may make me reconsider staying there again.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view - don't pay the extra fee for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kauai Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha from the Kauai Marriott! Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. All feedback is received and used to improve our service, and I would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly to gather more information regarding your stay. I do look forward to speaking with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    563
    204
    100
    63
See reviews for
371
873
20
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have just come back after spending 12 days in Marriott resort and beach club/Marriott lagoons.It is a beautiful,very picturesque ,enchanting place.Enjoyed long walks on golf courses and around lagoons.I feel this is the most beautiful island that I have seen.A visit to Princeville was awe inspiring.People are very polite and full of greetings-ALOHA,MAHALO etc.
My only complaint is that it is too far from England.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kauai Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
On behalf of the staff and management of the Kauai Marriott Resort, I would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation destination! When journeying from England to Kauai again, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Came on points, carefully reviewed all Hawaii Marriott locations and chose this one in part due to the relative openness for our travel dates (others were sold out..which made me apprehensive). Net-net the resort grounds are gorgeous and service was great top to bottom. The rooms are old - the buildings were built on the '60's - so don't expect a big spacious palace room. I did pay for an upgrade to a higher floor, worth it for view. There are certainly newer, more swanky places to stay in Kauai, but the Marriott is the Grand Dame of the island and provided a great stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I went to Kauai on the second half of our honeymoon. We stayed at the St. Regis (which was extremely overpriced, snooty and nothing amazing- we were sent there by our travel agent). We ended up missing our flight home... note to self, check in is 2 hours prior if you are going to the mainland. We were super stressed and the airline set-up a flight for the next day and a room at the Marriot. When we arrived were were greeted by a very nice woman at check-in (Dalphine P. I think?). She was so sweet. She knew it was our honeymoon and upgraded us to an ocean view room even though that is not normally where they put the airline guests. The grounds are very nice, beachfront was great and Duke's is a nice relaxed restaurant- good food and reasonably priced drinks (not $17 each like the St. regis). After staying, I think we will plan our next stay at the Marriot. Thank you for redeeming the last day of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just returned from a week here. The grounds of this hotel are quite nice, especially at night when they are lit up. The pool is beautiful, but the website stated that there were water slides, and there really isn't. There is a children's pool and a baby slide, which was very disappointing for our 11 and 9 year olds, especially after staying at the Grand Wailea in Maui-pool is incredible! The beach in front of the hotel is nice, but it is loaded with locals, sometimes teens drinking and smoking and using bad language :( The rooms are adequate and clean for the most part. The food at the beach hut was very good and the servers were attentive. Even though we were given a parking pass, we had to fight with locals to use our parking area because that was their access to the beach, very much a bummer.

Room Tip: There really isn't a spa, you can get a massage, but there isn't a place to relax in or use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here for 3 nights, using our Merriott points. We have stayed in quite a few popular resorts, and this is by far the nicest. The view from the Kahili tower in this hotel is unparalleled, and we loved how quiet and relaxing the atmosphere was. If you are looking for a big party scene, this is not the place for you. We used the pool and beach all day, and never had a need to leave the property, and even on the weekend, it was never too packed with people. There were always available lounge chairs. The grounds here are GORGEOUS, and I highly recommend at least a few days here as part of your Kauai stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Platinum Marriott member & very disappointed in this resort. Would never stay here again even though they claimed it recently went under a multi million dollar renovation.

Horrible food here....horrible service, and everything closes at 10pm...no drinks or food once 10pm hits.

The beach is more of a California beach, not a Hawaiian beach. Disappointing all the way around!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.