We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott dependability with great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Marriott dependability with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We checked in May 7th, after a long day of air travel from the Mainland. Fairly quick check in by a friendly desk agent. Our room was upgraded, as we were told in advance, to a partial ocean view. It was better than expected, with a view of the bay, pool and mountains. A nice balcony with two chairs was great. Our room was very nice. It seemed to have been recently refreshed and the bed was very comfortable as was the bathroom. We enjoyed the beachfront, but more as beach walkers than swimmers. The pool is beautiful and HUGE. If i had one real complaint here, it would be the serious lack of shade poolside. What little was available was always taken, and i feel this must be addressed by management.The
property is large, plan to do a lot of walking. We clocked just under half a mile from our car in the parking lot, to our room. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant several times. Prices seemed in line with a resort property. Dukes restaurant was fun and pretty good. I would stay here again and would recommend for families, probably not so much for Honeymooners.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    655
    242
    109
    67
See reviews for
446
995
35
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island ny
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a great time here at the end of April. The resort has a beautiful interior courtyard where you can feed the fish at 9 in the morning. We traded a timeshare to stay here and were not disappointed. We did have a housekeeping problem when we first arrived but that was taken care of and we were able to change to another place. The pool is outstanding and the beach area is lovely. No problem with airport noise and I don't think we ever heard a plane overhead. Duke's was a nice restaurant and you can walk to the little shopping area which has other restaurants. Staff were welcoming.All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great place to stay if your flight is arriving late and you need to drive South or North since the roads are dark and not well-marked. The photos looked spectacular on the website and the grounds were beautiful. The vibe at this resort is a little different than other resorts on the island - a little more bare bones and budget-oriented perhaps. Do not assume that typical Marriott amenities will be provided - if you forget your toothpaste or razor you will be directed to the gift store. We were celebrating our anniversary and there was nothing special so we are glad we stayed at 4 resorts during our vacation to Kauai.Seems like an excellent resort for a conference, but for a vacation if you have more time opt to stay at the Marriott in Poipu instead or go off-brand.

Pros:

1. Location to the airport
2. Self-parking
3. Grounds
4. Pool
5. Mai tais (2 complimentary drinks with resort fee)
6. Kalapaki beach was fun to see
7. Duke's

Cons:
1. Corporate feel
2. Oceanviews were obstructed
3. "Bare bones" - rooms did not have ambiance
4. Trying to sell time shares
5. Cruise ships docking meant extra busy and more touristy
6. Staff less friendly and genuine than other Kauai resorts we stayed (Sheraton, Koa Kea, St. Regis)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kauai Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha from the Kauai Marriott! Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of the staff and management at the Kauai Marriott, we are saddened that we did not live up to the reputation we have received for providing an outstanding vacation experience and showing the true Aloha Spirit we are known for. I welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further to use as training tools for our staff, and can be reached by calling our hotel directly. I do hope we can welcome you back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places I have stayed. Staff very gracious and accommodating. Was a bit leery about "garden super-saver" room through AA Vacations and first room was not great, overlooking walkway roof. But request to change rooms was made with no problem. Helicopter tour of Kauai was amazing. If you pick only one activity, this is definitely worth the cost!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kauai Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Aloha from the Kauai Marriott! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our resort as your recent vacation destination. Your comments regarding property are very appreciated and gives me a wonderful opportunity to celebrate your comments regarding our staff with them. On behalf of our entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Kauai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is kids friendly but nothing activities for the kids so mostly family with teenagers or couples were there. Restaurants in the property were good but especially we liked Duke's and went there for a couple of times. Service in the hotel was great but as all the resorts they too tried to sell you timeshare. Other negative thing I found was that there was usually only one person at the reception and we had to wait for quite a bit to even ask a simple question or we had to call 3 times to room service for extra towels. Otherwise the hotel staff was friendly, very clean and beautiful property. Convenience store just 20 steps away from the reception area was super helpful. The most I missed in this property was a cafe or even close proximity to any cafe for morning cappuccino :)

Would recommend in a heart beat for couples or family with teenagers who love to be on the beach or like to swim; will NOT recommend at all for kids aged 0-12 as they would get bored out of their minds as this is not the resort like Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club in Honolulu which organizes balloon classes or movie show time for kids or bubble thing, etc. Here they don't organize these kinds of kids events.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I'm loving my stay here so far. Room overlooks the ocean, huge pool and multiple hot tubs, and walking distance to some local shops and restaurants. I can't really think of anything not to like here other than it is not an inexpensive place to stay! Friendly concierges will help you set up whatever activity you'd like to do during your stay. It would be nice if there were more on site breakfast and lunch options, but the lunch hut at the pool does have tasty food and you can get pastries and coffee downstairs if you don't want to venture out for breakfast. We just got some toast and fruit to keep in our kitchenette area for breakfasts in our rooms. Nice to have that option!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is one of most gorgeous properties I have ever stayed on. I am not the kind of person who goes to a resort hotel and only stays there all day without exploring the surrounding areas, but I can finally understand why someone would at this place. The hotel has a beautiful lagoon beach all to itself, and granted the waves are not very good for surfing nor is the water clear enough for snorkeling, you can do some great standup paddle boarding. When you decide to leave the beach, you can walk right over to the beautiful pool, which is equipped with a center island, cascading and waterfall fountains, and five hot tubs. Our room was very clean with nice furnishings, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a "partial" ocean view, which I'm not entirely sure is accurate because I could see the entire stretch of beach and the bay.

The only complaints I have were the typical high prices of everything there (do yourself a favor and walk across the street or to the ABC store to buy any little things you might need, or take the shuttle to Kmart and save a ton). Also, the hotel sushi restaurant there was TERRIBLE, and that's saying something considering I live in a desert and can find way better sushi restaurants. Luckily we found good sushi spots elsewhere on the island.

Room Tip: Save yourself money and get a "partial" ocean view, because it is no less spectacular than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.