We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lihue
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel but.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Be prepared to blow the cobwebs out of your wallet when you stay here. The rooms are large and very clean. Service staff friendly. Lots of places to eat nearby and the beach location is stunning and the pool is fabulous. Resort fee of $25 per day for parking and Internet. We had an ocean view and loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    587
    211
    103
    64
See reviews for
397
893
23
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first time to the Island of Kauai. The Hotel was beautiful! Great pool with 5 hot tubs. The hot tubs were scalding though so I couldn't even get my foot in. Beautiful view of mountains. We had an ocean view on the 2nd floor in the Haupu tower. Room 1623. Great view of the ocean, palm trees and pool. Very comfortable room with balcony. Great bed! Our daughter and husband had room 1610 which was supposed to have a pool view but had a tree in the way. Great breakfast bar with breakfast sandwiches, wraps, pastries and muffins, yogurt, fruit, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea. Very nice sitting areas also. No one told us about the refillable cup until 2nd to the last day. It's worth it! I think it was $34 but it good for free refills of coffee, iced tea, and soft drinks during your whole time at the resort! Get it on the first day! We ate at Duke's twice. Very good. We did not try Cafe' Portofino due to reviews I read beforehand. You can walk across the highway to a shopping center and restaurants. We ate at JJ's Broiler one night which was just ok. Also tried the Feral Pig for Breakfast which was good. The shrimp taco's at the pool bar are great and the MiTia's and food is good at Kukui's Restaurant also. We ate there for breakfast once and dinner once. You should get a welcome packet when you arrive which has a discount card you can use for breakfast at Kukui's and you get 2 free MiTia coupons also. The gift shop is very nice and a really nice lady that worked there (wish I got her name) gave us tips on nice drives and things to see. She was much more helpful than the 2 concierges we spoke to. Would not return in early March because the weather is too unpredictable. Rained one whole day, average temp was 75 and partly cloudy. Cruise ship port within view which was cool to see. On a whole, it was a great place to stay. Nice people. Quiet, nice beach. They should have pool umbrellas but you can find some shade. Use sunscreen even if it's cloudy! Burned the first day!! Take some driving trips! We need to go back to see everything! We did the Ali'i Kayak trip on the Wailua River and hike to the Secret Falls. TC was our guide and was Great! Funny and entertaining! Great trip! We also did the Smith Family Luau which was a bit cheesy. It would be great for families with older people or young children but wasn't really what we wanted. 4 hour Luau.Starts at 5 for check in and You get a trip of the grounds on a shuttle, drinks are only from 6:30 - 7:30. Dinner is under a big shelter with hundreds of people in long tables. Mass production. Food was good though. and you can drink as much as you can in an hour. You move to another part for the show which was ok. Not the best Luau I've been to. It's a huge business for this family though. Beautiful grounds. Nice people. You must drive to Po'ipu! You must eat at the Beach House, make reservations before you leave though. Great sunset!! Great food!! The 150 year old tree covered road to Po'ipu is awesome! We also ate at Keoki's Paradise in Po'ipu which was also awesome! Have the HULA PIE! to die for!!! Great open air restaurant with live music. Like eating in a tropical garden with streams. We tried to drive to see the canyon one day but it was the rainy day and couldn't see anything. Have to go back to see that and also to see the Napali Coast. We did drive north past Princeville to Hanalei. Great town, next time we will stay a few days here! Have pizza at Tahiti Nui. Best pizza I ever had and I'm from Chicago! George Clooney filmed his lunch here in the Decsendants. Great little town. DRive all the way to the end of Hwy. 560 great beaches along the way. Ends at a dry cave and then a little farther to a wet cave. You can also hike up there. Such a beautiful Island with much to see and do. We will return!!

Room Tip: Our room had a great view on the 2nd floor but depends on location. I heard you should ask for 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our stay at the Marriott was eventful when we arrived because our room was joined at the hip to the elevators! We had that changed and got a great room overlooking the pool, courtyard and beach. Excellent! The rooms are clean and well maintained, needing little in the way of fixing that I usually notice in most hotels. The amenities were good with the exception of the one meal we ordered via room service. Too tired to go out the night we arrived, we ordered in, and that set the tone for no more ordering in. It was expensive and rates no more than a 2. The salad was good, the fish not so much, and the Filipino seafood and noodle dish had fake fish in it! Their specialty of Macadamia Pie was fair. Price was very high, and they were 30 minutes late. All that being said, the hotel is great...just don't order room service. It's nicely located just a couple of miles from the airport on the edge of Lihue, and has good access to the road system.

Room Tip: The tower overlooking the beach and courtyard/pool is the best place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a wonderful time for 6 night stay recently. Kauai is our favorite of the islands anyway. Initially was disappointed as room was suboptimal as Marriott Platinum and not as had been reserved, but front desk manager and Bryan at front desk swiftly corrected situation which was greatly appreciated and definitely changed my perspective for rest of stay. The luau on Mondays does not have the traditional meal/drinks but if you have been to one of the "huge" luaus before would strongly recommend this one as more intimate and you can actually be close to the entertainment. Pool areas of hotel are phenomenal, beach area not great. Lots of seating. Personally I liked the beach chairs on area of grass right in front of sand and beach area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is amazing, it's beautiful. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are nicely decorated, clean, comfortable and well proportioned and the hotel has amazing views over Kalapaki beach, which is easily accessible from the pools. The island of Kauai is the perfect destination to get away from it all, but has the best of both worlds, peace, quiet and tranquility and some of the best scenery in the United States. There isn't a great deal to do outside of the resort apart from the usual sightseeing, (A car and local guide is essential!) but the hotel has more than enough to keep you occupied! Love it, will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in the ocean front villas and loved it. Beautiful view, great gardens, directly in front of the beach. Plan on walking quite a ways. The entrance is a ways from the lobby, and the lobby is a ways from the tower. However, you are on vacation and there is hurry! The center of the hotel has a tropical garden with koi ponds. Very relaxing for contemplation or strolling. The beach is well cared for with nice lawns and palms. The pool is one of the best we have ever been in - so large that you didn't feel crowded at all. It is a big circle with an island in the middle for chairs and cabanas - accessible by an arched bridge. There was always plenty of seating. There are 5 jacuzzis. Quite hot but really relaxing. The hotel has easy access to various shops and restaurants nearby. You will want a car to go to Poipu and other parts of the island. Our room had a living room/kitchen plus a bedroom, and two bathrooms. Very comfortable. We headed up to Costco and stocked up with fruit, cereal, yogurt, a chicken and a salad, and were set for a lot of our casual meals. Then went to Hukilau Lanai (Kapa'a) and to Merriman's (Poipu) for special meals. Next door was Cafe Portofino (delicious lasagna) and Duke's (ordinary food). We also drove to the National Tropical Botanical Gardens in Poipu - well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I are just about to wrap up or latest vacation at this classic hotel. There's a good reason we return every few years: it has everything we need and more!
The rooms are comfortable, clean, and beautiful views in every direction. Several choices for dining on or near the grounds. Duke's is our favorite with great seafood choices and the best salad bar ever. Try the fish tacos! Prices are very reasonable. Aupaki terrace is the place to go for light breakfast and has a big selection of flavors of Kauai coffees too! The terrace also has lots of seating with comfortable sofas, tables and chairs.
We stay for two weeks usually so we use the gas grills near the terrace at least a few times to prepare steaks, etc. and dine at one of the tables overlooking the pool.
The pool is one of the biggest in Hawaii, very beautiful with plenty of lounge chairs. Clean bathrooms in pool area. Pool is very close to Kalapaki beach which is a protected bay which makes it a great beach for families with children. Not a good place for snorkeling, though.
There is daily upkeep of the grounds which are lush with tropical plants and trees and walking paths that lead to the lagoons and golf course. Lots of walkers and joggers in the morning.
About a 25 min drive to poipu for great snorkeling. 5 min drive to grocery store and Costco. 5 min drive from airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.