We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One step away from being a good buy. If they could have accommodated a platinum member with "we've got you covered" then I'm all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Lihue
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One step away from being a good buy. If they could have accommodated a platinum member with "we've got you covered" then I'm all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This place was so close.
Background - platinum elite with Marriott. Booked 7 days paid 1 BR ocean view suite (w kitchenette and Murphy). + another 3 nights on points (ocean view room).

Arrived w my fam (wife 4yrold and 5 month old). Was placed in suite 450 in the NouNou tower. Avoid. Shoot for something in the 530's or 540's range (closer to ocean). While the room is relatively clean and serviceable - the 'ocean view' was severely obstructed by the roof of the restaurant. Despite my daily requests to the front desk and room coordinator for a higher floor and / actual room with a view - no dice. Front desk just smiled back at me. I also requested to stay in the same category room for the points part of my stay. No dice. On day 7 - moved to a single kingbed room (no kitchenette). For a whole week they said 'we'll see what they can do'. Only to realize that b/c the property is partial timeshare - any of the same category units I was in has a 10 day cancellation policy. So when they said they'd see what they could do on day one of a seven day stay - there was really no option to move from the outset. Dont waste my time with false promises.

There were positives - the kids pool and slide was a big hit w the 4yr old. Kalapaki beach was fantastic! Didn't notice the plane noise ( but the helicopters were annoying ). The grounds were really nice.

Other negatives - overpriced. $12 drinks! Could use a few more bbq's too! 3 ain't gonna suffice. Lots of activities for the kids - but each comes at a price - slightlyore tha what I would value them at.

I stay for business at marriotts all the time - it's just me and I'm flexible, if the room is tiny or backs on to train tracks - I can take it.

But this stay is different, if matters. It's my one time to show my family why all the wok travel is worth it. Pay back for time away from my wife and kids. We flew 6+ hrs to get here. It's a tropical paradise. It's a big deal to my family. But none of that mattered to the Marriott. It's just another day, and another customer.

So suffice to say - I really don't see any benefit to continue to stay with marriott - as platinum equates to nothing.

Moving back to SPG. thanks but no thanks marriott.

In fact - Net net - I would have preferred a vacation house rental - at least you know what you're getting. And with small children - that really matters.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    738
    562
    203
    100
    63
See reviews for
370
870
20
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It's a very nice resort; you can read about the rooms beach restaurants in other reviews. We had a nice stay.

The major disappointment was the kids club. The photos on the hotel website show a few pictures of it. But in fact most of the time it's closed. It's only open on the weekend. And you have to pay about $50 per child per day. I posted some photos, you can see this. My daughter was quite disappointed that it wasn't open when we were there. I was quite disappointed it was an additional fee and only on the weekends. Maybe that's clear if you look closely at their website, but that's not the impression I picked up. Oh well,if you have kids just beware.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

As a Marriott Lifetime Platinum Elite member, I have stayed at this property annually for the past 8 years. Last year, I wrote a review that indicated this property had several issues they needed to address. I am pleased to say that this year, our stay exceeded our expectations. One of my chief complaints over the years has been the long wait to check into the property. This year, there were 6 agents on front desk duty and for the first time, a Platinum Lane was in place. Total time in line was less than 5 minutes, from start to finish. In addition, I was on the island and called the hotel, asking if possible for an early check-in. They were not only able to accommodate my family, but also called me and advised when my room was ready!

The furnishings in our hotel room had been upgraded since last year to include a new bed. The Elevators in our tower had some minimal issues, but I am told the hotel is in the process of addressing these problems. As for the hotel pool and grounds, as always, they are in excellent condition and landscaping well maintained. This year, our grandchildren enjoyed the children's pool and water slide, while their parents and grandparents enjoyed watching them.

And, the entire staff we came in contact with were excellent. Their one goal seemed focused on meeting their guest expectations to insure that we were having an excellent experience during our stay. Mahalo to the entire staff for an enjoyable stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Kauai Resort last week for 3 nights and it was spectacular! We were pleasantly surprised by the resort. The location is great, right in between the north and south areas of the island so you can easily travel to both (which I highly recommend doing) and its super close to the airport and the free shuttle is great. The weather in Lihue was great, I wouldn't say it was much rainier than the south, we had mostly sun all day every day. You are also close to a number of shopping centers and restuarants so the location was great. I highly recommend visiting Duke's restaurant on the beach next to the hotel during happy hour (4 to 6 pm I believe) they had great drink specials which really helps save money and its a great view of the ocean! The resort grounds were beautiful, the pool is very clean and huge! There were plenty of lounge chairs around, no need to get up early and save them like at some resorts. The beach was really nice for laying out and swimming. The view of the bay was spectacular, the mountains on the other side made for a wonderful scene. The hotel room was also very nice, clean, updated, big and had a wonderful balcony. The bathroom was also nice and roomy! I think one of my favorite parts was the awesome walkway around the center of the resort overlooking the pool. There were tons of cushiony chairs for people to lounge on and relax and we would always grab a quick breakfast from the little cafe bar there and sit around and enjoy! We also appreciated that there was an enterprise rent a car location at the resort so it made renting a car so convenient. Overall, great place to stay, I highly recommend!

Room Tip: The high up ocean view rooms towards the end of the building (towards the beach), have awesome views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Atlanta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location: very short drive from the airport, but hardly noticed airplane traffic (didn't observe any planes flying directly overhead).

Room: stayed in the Kilohana Wing - above/behind Wai'ale'ale Wing. AMAZING room was actually two adjoining rooms: one with King bed and lots of extra space, one with Murphy bed and stocked kitchen (utensils, dishes, fridge, dishwasher...) with small dining table and balcony. Excellent choice for two adults who each need their own bed and space.

Public Areas: Huge property with lots to explore. Landscaping - amazing. Pond and waterfall feature - stunning. Statuary - impressive. Great variety in places to chill on furniture of all descriptions (chairs, lounges, cocoons, you name it).

Beach: easy access to the pretty beach on a very picturesque bay. I found this view of attractive buildings, a mountain and a bay more interesting than just open water. Also saw a cruise ship sail past enroute to port, plus whales breaching offshore (with binoculars).

Restaurants: evening drink at Duke's - casual, laid back and pleasant. Ate at Kukui's: the Mongolian Grill was fun, tasty and way too much to eat (includes soup, dessert bar). Had lunch at Kalapaki Grill - nice setting by mammoth pool.

There's a weird hall area with closed timeshare offices, and the hotel's age is evident in places like the elevators. This really didn't detract from the experience, though. Hated to leave this resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a convenient location. Our room was clean, nicely decorated, large and appears to have been recently refurbished. The balcony was large -- the only downside is the patio door is heavy and noisy and the balcony echoes so you can hear what everyone else is saying if they are out on their balcony. Any time anyone around closes their patio door you know it! We had an oceanview which really is a limited view of the harbor. It was fun to see the cruise ships come and go. The way the hotel is situated on the harbor, a true oceanview or ocean front room really isn't possible. You can only see the entrance to the harbor best case.

The pool is large and very nice. There were always ample chairs and free beach chairs. The pool bar and grill has very limited hours so don't expect to be able to get a cocktail to watch the sunset because the bar closes anywhere between 4 and 5 pm.

You can easily walk to many restaurants and shops. There is ample parking though it can be a bit of a walk if you look for a spot later in the evening. The airport is close by and it's easy to drive to the north, south and west shore attractions.

The hotel grounds are very lovely with a wonderful garden area and koi pond. Shopping on site is minimal. It appears that many shops have gone out of business. If you have a car (which I'd highly recommend), there is a shopping mall about two miles away with a full service grocery store, drug store and many other shops. Each room has a small refrigerator, so you can easily stock up on pop, wine, snacks and breakfast food.

One big negative is the lack of self-laundry facilities. There are three laundry rooms - but each one only has one washer and one dryer. We ended up going to a local laundry about 2 miles from the hotel which has a dozen or more washers and dryers -- it's not fancy, but very functional.

I would return to this hotel for another vacation.

Room Tip: Ask to be on at least the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

After much research on trip advisor and looking at prices I chose to stay here during Valentine week. The cost was the same for Marriott and The Hyatt both around 260 a night but I had trouble with all the reviews on whether you could swim on the beaches. The Marriott sits beach front with a lovely soft sand beach and the water was just perfect. The Kalapaki beach is where at least one cruise ship docks nearby and has calm enough waters to just float around in.
The hotel does not allow their lawn chairs beyond a grass area overlooking the beach so it's towel on the sand or go buy a lawn chair at a nearby store. Many people choose to stay on the nearby grass with lawn chairs so we almost had the beach to ourselves.

The hotel itself is a beautiful property with a big koi pond, gigantic roman type pillars, connected to a golf course, minutes from the airport (but no plane noise from hotel). The room was modern with the most comfortable bedding (get pool view room which also gives u partial ocean view). The pool is huge, 4' deep and with a separate kiddie pool. Connected to pool is four spa's with super hot water and powerful jets for your relaxation moments.

Plan to rent a car (enterprise rental is onsite) during ur visit as restaurants and all excursions require u to drive to them (they don't have shuttles that pick u up). At the end of the beach is a couple of small shops including a ABC store to pick up some small items. The highways are mainly one lane which is why sometimes it takes awhile to travel to your destinations,

Within driving distance of 15 min there is a McDonald's , Burger King, a small mall with Macy's and Sears and of course Starbucks. The food on site is good too with a Dukes (Hula Pie- yummy!), Cafe Portafino (good food but small quantity and pricey for what you get), and the poolside grill with a tasty good sized 14 dollar hamburger. The hotel sundry store also has milk and cereal for breakfast if you prefer to eat in your room.

We also drove to Jossellin's (about 20 min drive) for Tapas (small plates) which was tasty. I would plan on spending for 2 people with wine about 100 dollars a meal.

Excursion- the only one we did was the river kayak on the wailua river to the secret falls. It cost 50 dollars a person and took about 4 hours. You kayak 2 miles and hike (not too hard) 1.5 miles to a decent size water fall where you can swim at and eat your self packed lunch before heading back the same way you came. Good exercise and fun trip.

Overall I highly recommend the hotel. During our stay, it was mostly elderly people with a few families and a few 20-40s folks. This is not a party hotel but very relaxing. The hotel is just the right size without having to walk a million miles to get to stuff. Once again the beach was perfect with water you could lounge in and soft sand to out ur feet in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.