We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in Hawaii” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Marriott Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Sebastopol, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fun in Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great pool, very affordable, good restaurants. Check in was stressful because they said they didn't have the rollaway bed we'd requested months in advance. After trying to decide whether to stay or not, we checked in, went to the room and, voile, the rollaway was there. Housekeeping did not, evidently, communicate with checkin. After that, all went very well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    610
    222
    105
    66
See reviews for
418
928
32
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I traded our time share for 1 week at this property. At first it seemed huge and confusing, especially as we arrived after dark, but by next day we were finding our way around very easily. The layout is confusing with 3 different sections and specific elevators for different areas. We were fortunate to be given an ocean-front room on the 5th floor of the Kilohana Wing with a wonderful view of Kalapaki Beach. As this wing was the original building on the property, the suite was a little dated and, unfortunately, we found a couple of bugs as well as soiled linen on the bed on inspection of the suite. This situation was handled fairly well by housekeeping, although they insisted they did not have bugs in their hotel. My husband had already killed and flushed the 2 bugs so we had no proof, but this hotel is in the middle of a jungle - bugs go with the territory. We had no further problems at all.
There are many restaurants on the property. We found the restaurants right inside the hotel to be somewhat expensive; however, we had a few very pleasant meals at Kukui's right beside the pool. We found Dukes and Cafe Portofina more reasonable,especially Duke's where we ate many meals.
The suite itself was actually 2 adjoining rooms; however, we only had a small kitchen with microwave, toaster, coffee maker and dishwasher so we just prepared simple meals and no dinners. Since my husband is on a secial diet, we prefer to do our own cooking, but this was only possible for breakfast and lunch. We each had our own bathroom which was great. The furniture was somewhat large and "clunky" and old, but we have noticed since the downturn in the economy this seems to be the norm.
There are beautiful gardens surrounding all the buildings (and on some of the roof-tops) and a large koi pond (rather overstocked) in the large courtyard in the middle of the main building. The pool is very large and enjoyable with fountains and 5 hot tubs. There is also a small children's pool with slide. The beach is great for walking and swimming (some surfing too) and there are 2 beach volleyball courts as well as many lounge chairs available, both at the pool and beach.
Kauai has many wild chickens and roosters and this property was no exception. I rather enjoyed being awakened every morning just before dawn by a "cock-a-doodle-do" but I know that would not be to everyone's taste.
A hint - if you arrive after dark and are driving from the airport, take to road (Rice Road, although you can't read the sign at that time of day) pointing to Poipu and not the road marked for Lihue. Also, if you prefer a newer suite, ask for the Haupu Wing which will have a view of the pool.
All in all we had a very relaxing and enjoyable time at this resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel is only 1 mile from the airport (no airport noise though). I would recommend this property for couples and families but not for solo travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Marriott is really nice. A great deal for Kauai. If I had to the main hotels for value I would place Marriott, Hyatt, St. Regis, Sheraton. The Marriott has a huge pool for the kids, it has it's own beach, and then it has Dukes. I'm a big Duke fan, I drink their Mai Tais everywhere I go. This Dukes had 4* Mai Tais. Not bad , there is another place on the island that is even better. Sorry I can't remember. Back to the Marriott, it's clean, decent size rooms, nice gym, etcc..If I wanted the best upgrade I would stay at the Hyatt. If I wanted to splurge at Kauai, I would stay half the trip in Poipou at the Hyatt, and half the trip at the St. Regis in Princeville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Kauai Marriott. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel was centrally located assessable to most local attractions. The onsite restaurants were excellent , a little pricey. I wasn't crazy about the wild chickens walking in and out of the restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Dirty and cracked hot tubs, mildew smell in halls, duck feces on walkways, poi pond smells bad, room not clean (dirt and dust), showers, sink. Frozen burger patties at grill! Lime on the waterfall walls. Property is old. Good pool and OK view. Too many other nicer places. Not worth it. skw/los angeles

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here with a group of 5 people in December of 2010. The hotel is in a great location right on Poipu beach. The room was very nice and extremely large. The staff seemed nice, not overly friendly, but not rude either. The hotel pool was great as well. Being so close to the beach was fantastic, but there weren't a lot of restaurants close by. We had a car so it wasn't a big deal but I wouldn't count on walking anywhere close by. I would stay here again on a Kauai visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onset, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I didn't stay at this property, so I can't rate the rooms (hence only 4 stars), but the grounds and hotel lobby, restaurant, pool, and ponds were all visited by me. This place is absolutely gorgeous, spacious, and well-appointed. Golf course near-by and easy access form the airport. Swim at the pool or at Kalapaki Beach. A few restaurants and shopping nearby as well. Fantastic place and I will return and stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kauai Marriott Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.