We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour Drinking and Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapaki Joe's

Kalapaki Joe's
3501 Rice St, Ste 208, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1760
808-245-6266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Drinking and Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Large menu, reasonable prices and great happy hour specials...a good time is enjoyed by all! The $0.25 wings and the special taco of the day are especially good buys. The drinks are generous and the customer service is prompt and friendly. This is a very casual environment where you can really relax.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    141
    62
    40
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great brie appetizer, the rest just so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good atmosphere, was a nice, laid-back dinner watching the sun set with the ocean across the street and a guy playing guitar...

The drinks were a little watered down... again... seems to be a recurring theme on the island. We do better making drinks in our room before hand then having one at a restaurant, I'd suggest either straight liquor, wine, or beer. The service was OK, we ordered appetizers and drinks well before dinner food and they both showed up simultaneously. Glad we were planning to just munch on a few things anyway.

The brie with garlic and jam with toast points was the highlight of the meal. Excellent! Perfectly roasted garlic, good brie, good toast. Cheap with part of it being mexican nacho chips but that's fine, didn't eat them anyway, just barely enough garlic bread to enjoy the brie.

The combination mahi and coconut shrimp and calamari were NOT fresh. Very much pre-frozen food as were the fries. Yuck. We nibbled on some of it, but mostly left it. I would NOT suggest ordering any of their fried seafood items or french fries after that experience. Stick with stuff they HAVE to make fresh.

Overall OK, fit the bill for something to munch on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Place for Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice open-air bar setup, and good happy hour drink deals. Relaxing place to spend an afternoon! The snacks they had on the menu were tasty as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, ca
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Portion Sizes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The food here is great but they serve huge portions so you may want to share plates. Their version of salsa is Marinara sauce, and their marinara sauce is ketchup.We tried the Pizza fries they were very good. We aso tried the chicken tacos which was very tasty and the bar b que was huge portions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Busy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a typical sports bar with a great view of Kalapaki and Nawiliwili Harbor. We made reservations to see a MMA fight on PPV. We stood and waited for over an hour after our reservation time to get a seat, that we got only because we agreed to share with another couple. The food is typical of sports bar fare and the drinks are pretty good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapaki Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.