We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapaki Joe's

Kalapaki Joe's
3501 Rice St, Ste 208, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1760
808-245-6266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 90 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food and view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our first time to eat here. We had a nice lunch. The food was awesome and the service was great. You have a nice view of the ocean. The fish is fresh and the salad greens were nice and fresh. We will definitely go back next time we visit Kauai.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    128
    56
    33
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east greenwich, rhode island
Top Contributor
593 reviews 593 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Not even happy hour could make me return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The bartender was too busy eating and drinking to take my order. I always thought service was better at the bar (there were no available tables outside). Finally got her attention and a longboard... It was delicious. The rest of the food was a disaster. Cold buffalo wings, no silverware or napkins! Please!!! My burger was a well done hockey puck. When I complained, she said we use frozen patties- that's how they come out. Ordered the grilled ahi and shrimp. The shrimp was overcooked and the ahi tasted funny. I will find someplace else to eat rather than risk surly waitstaff and food that could make one ill!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Sports Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a great place in the Lihue area to watch your favorite team while enjoying good burgers and beers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Terrible Breakfast and Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Do not waste your time or money at Kalapaki Joe's prior to 3pm (that is when their happy hour begins). The breakfast buffet was the worst I've ever experienced with dry, nasty scrabbled eggs and stale granola. To top it all off... Despite the coffee being undrinkable, self-serve and located w the buffet items, they charged an additional $3 on top of the grossly overpriced buffet! Service was completely non-existent! Nobody to get water, silverware or even our bill from. Do yourself a favor and go to The Feral Pig located just downstairs! Their breakfast sandwich and banana bread french toast are incredible.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is also located in the same shopping mall as the Feral Pig but I prefered this place....very good menu choices and prices are resonable...Happy hour also.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapaki Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.