We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Was Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This Place Was Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Garden Island Inn was the perfect place to stay on Kaua'i. It is centrally located, reasonably priced, spacious, clean, and friendly. If you are looking for a fancy resort, this is not it. If you are looking for an isolated cottage, this is not it. If you are looking for a great place to stay, with the friendliest staff imaginable, stay here.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    116
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
81
228
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night at the end of our trip -- we picked it due to hotel's close proximity to the airport (we had an early flight the next morning) and for its great rate. I was able to secure a better than advertised deal by contacting the hotel directly. Everyone I dealt with on the phone and in person was very friendly. As you probably would expect for a hotel in this price range, the accommodations aren't luxurious but they were very comfortable. We were on the first floor and were not bothered by any noise (we did use the fan frequently though). We spent the afternoon over at the Marriott beach area and had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

At just over $100 a night it was a great value compared to the $300 a night at the Marriott across the street but you lose all the ammenities (a pool, beach front access, room service, restaurants, etc.) The hotel itself is old but they have made it personable with handpainted designs ALL over. I only gave it a three as it doesn't compare to the bigger resorts but it is good for the money. (I don't want to mislead readers into thinking that this is a four or five star hotel - but please note that important areas such as value, location, and service all received 5 stars.) If you don't need luxury, then this is a great place to stay. (Personal note - they have tile floors in the bedrooms which I completely understand due to sand and water, but I really prefer carpet in bedrooms - especially in humid climates when you stick to everything :-)

P.S. The Beach Hut across the street is a nice place to grab lunch for a very reasonable price, unlike some of the other restaurants in the area. You can sit at the covered area upstairs and look out at the ocean. And Duke's is always fun with great atmosphere - great for dinner and/or drinks. They often have live music as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had a large room which had everything you could ask for including small ironing board and iron and everything for basic self-catering. Across the road is a lovely family beach, restaurants, shops and an ABC store which was quite well stocked. Lovely gardens; at the front are tables and chairs and a waterfall at the back. The whole place was very clean and very well maintained. The landings and stairs were hosed down regularly and not a cobweb in sight anywhere. All the staff were so pleasant and looked like they enjoyed working there. The building is on 3 floors with outside landings so you hear doors banging, people talking on walkways. It's 5 minutes from the airport so aircraft noise can be heard all day. We weren't kept awake by cockerels but cats one night. The road outside is quite noisy even with the windows shute and it goes on late and starts early. It's a lovely Inn but we wish we could pick it up and move it to somewhere quieter! We still loved it though and would go back in spite of lack of sleep!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natebanta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A small garden filled with tropical plants, flowers, and trees. Romantic Hawaiian music filling the garden. And comfortable tables waiting to be used for a romantic dinner on Valentines Day. That was our recent experience at the Garden Island Inn.
They should hold a workshop on customer service! Friendly, personable, caring are just a few words to describe the staff at this little gem.
I stayed here (the current #2 in Lihue) and at Kauai Beach Resort (current #1) and give GII a slight edge over KBR. Both are wonderful and offer things that the other cannot. But the artwork, beauty, and personal level of service at Garden Island Inn just can't be beat.
Also, my favorite beach on Kauai, Kalapaki Beach is just across the street as is a shopping complex with an ABC Store.
Finally, the artwork on the doors and throughout the hotel by a local artist only enhances the garden experience at this hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Steve and his team are friendly, professional, outstanding customer service, and they make you feel right at home. Best place to stay & value is fantastic! Takes you back to old and golden days of Hawaii!

Much Mahalo,
Perlas & Joe

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

At the risk of sounding repetitive, let me just say that this little hotel is a real throwback to the good old days when service was king, Manager Steve and all the rest of the staff, from the front office to the maintenance and maid staff really knock themselves out to make your stay there a memorable one. No other place in Kauai can touch them for value and service, so end your search for a place to stay right here! Mahalo

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.