We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new understanding of hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 savings per night
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokyo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A new understanding of hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We chose the Garden Island Inn based on the reviews here as well as it's location. Less than ten minutes from the airport and well situated for trips west and north. The local beach has a fresh water pool which our small children preferred to the sea. The hotel is within walking distance to several excellent restaurants which was perfect as we didn't have a car. Stuck without transport the hotel staff went out of their way to help us find ways of to see the island. Special thanks to Robin! we would definitely stay again if we ever have a chance to come back t this beautiful island.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    128
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
87
245
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

It is located on a great area of Kauai. It is close to shopping and other attractions. The rooms are spacious and pretty. It is very colorful. You can walk across the street to the bay where the Kauai Marriott is located. It's a beautiful beach. There is also a wonderful Sushi reataurant in the shopping center. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Aloha! My sister and I stayed at the Garden Island Inn's Banyan Harbor condo, "Hale Kalapaki", and couldn't have been more pleased. (The condo's adjacent to the Inn.)
We had everything we needed here, from ocean-view balcony to the fully-equipped kitchen to the comfy beds.

We loved the fact that the Inn has a plethora of beach stuff to loan guests; we borrowed beach towels, chairs, and body boards!

Location to Kalapaki Beach is unbeatable. You're also within walking distance to some restaurants as well.

Front desk and housekeeping staff extremely friendly, too.

No doubt we would stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

It was everything it said it would be. The rooms were clean, coffee in room, across the road from the beach, people were nice. It was a good base,short ride to the airport. Pretty murals on all the doors.

It was a nice place, the people were very nice and helpful. Nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is a hotel that I am looking for. Good price for the island of Kauai. Rooms were clean, which is the main thing I am looking for. Hotel by Lihue airport (about 5-10 minute drive). Great location to serve as a base to visit the island. It’s about the halfway point to visit the south shore and north shore. About 1 hr in each direction to the end of the highway. Close to Kmart to pick up supplies. Front desk is very friendly and helpful. You can borrow beach towels, snorkeling equipment, and other beach gear. Hotel is clean, reasonably price, and good location to serve as a base to visit the amazing island of Kauai. Mahalo for such a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

My hubby and I spent three nights at the Garden Island Inn in July. We selected it based on TA reviews and the comments were right on target. This is not a fancy place, but the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and it was a great place to stay our first few days on Kauai. The location worked great for the the activities we wanted to do the first few days--drive to the canyon, take a helicopter trip, etc. We enjoyed relaxing on the lanai after a busy day and the kitchen area gave us the choice of eating breakfast in or out. Duke's is just across the street next to the Marriot, along with some shopping and a beach, so you have options within walking distance. We would definitely recommend it and would stay again if we make it back to Kauai.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Our stay at GII was splendid from start to finish, and also a great value. The 2cd and 3rd floor rooms all have entrances off a covered outdoor hallway on the back of the hotel with a gorgeous waterfall and garden surrounding it (white noise so you can't hear the neighbors). Parts of the rooms and some outdoor surfaces themselves are hand painted with island themes (tasteful and a little funky in a good way). The rooms are like an in-law suite, which in addition to the usual hotel room stuff has a "kitchen area" which has a counter, extra sink, coffee pot, microwave, fridge and some silverware/plates/etc - this made it easy to eat breakfast there and to keep food/beers around. The lanai (porch) has a couple chairs and a table, and was a great place to hang out; the plants in the garden out front make it smell wonderful around there too! DVD player in the room too, and DVD's to borrow for free from the front desk.

The service from the front desk staff is what really set this place apart. Everyone is friendly and helpful and willing to help solve your problems. One person in particular, Robin G., went way out of his way to help me out by spending a bunch of time on his PC in the office at the desk's closing time to find and reserve for me a rental car at a great price in Honolulu the next day. He even gave my wife and I a nice going away gift pack with some tasty island treats. Also, besides DVD's to borrow from the desk, you can also borrow a lot of the other stuff you need - styrofoam cooler, grill, beach toys, guide books, beach towels.

The location is across a somewhat busy street from a public beach. Also, just a 2 minute walk down the road gets you to a couple shopping areas with a variety of stores and restaurants - nothing like the strip in Waikiki, but enough to keep you busy, fed and not feeling obligated to drive for dinner/drinks in the evening.

There's a waterfall swimming hole (with jumping rock and rope swing) that's a short drive away that they point out to you in the info sheet in the room that's totally worth going to as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.