We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Many Extras Included” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Affordable and Many Extras Included”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Loved the location of this Inn. 5 miles from the airport in Lihue - across from Kalapaki beach. Nice central location, get a rental car and go South one day and then the next day go North! The room was very nice. Second floor, queen size bed, with lanai. Outside there is a partial view of the beach and ocean. Nice waterfall outside the door. Many extras included (no extra charge for use) such as - movies, boogie boards, paddle board, snorkel gear, towels, sunblock, mats, coolers. Snacks available in the office (buns, cookies, granola bars, tangelos all through the day). Microwave and frig included in the room, along with much room for storage of personal items. Bathroom included shampoo, soap, etc. The only thing - was the little mold on the grout in the shower - weather conditions/humidity causing this issue.

Housekeeping staff were wonderful with the care of our room. I would go back to this inn!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    99
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
73
200
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wow, what a wonderful place to stay! we absolutely loved it. This is not the place for you if you need 5 star amenities such as room service, spa etc. If you want friendly staff, very comfortable room, a lanai with a view, and a central location then this is the spot. We stayed 6 days, and found this fit our needs perfectly. We certainly will be going back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We picked this hotel because we wanted somewhere close to the airport as we were coming in on a late flight and wanted somewhere for a coup[le of days before going for a timeshare week in Princeville.It fit our needs perfectly was perfect.The office was closed when we arrived but there was an envelope on the office door with the keys to our room.The hotel is older motel style but clean and well maintained with some interesting art as well.It was great base to explore the south of the island and 2 mins from one of the best swimming beaches on the island…Kalapaki.Dukes is also on this beach.The only downside is that is on the highway so you have traffic noise particularly in the morning but this was outweighed by all the positives about this place.

Room Tip: secind or third floor if you want a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Hotel is in a great location, 1 hour from Waimea and 1 hour from Princeville. We had ground floor room 7 facing the parking lot with a "queen bed" (which was actually 2 twins pushed together, so bed was a little shorter than a regular queen) Room was spotless, very clean and nice to have a microwave and mini fridge for snacks. Free parking and free wifi are a great bonus as most hotels charge a "resort fee" as well as charge for parking. We were able to stay for 12 nights due to the reasonable price of this hotel. The front desk staff is amazing and so helpful. They also have any beach gear you could possiblly want for use at the front desk. Towels, boogie boards, sunblock, bug spray, umbrellas, coolers, etc. There are 2 small shopping centers within walking distance as well as a Marriott across the street with resturants and shops. If you are looking for nightlife, bars, etc this is not the place for you. Very quiet area with residental area all around. Most shops are closed by 8 and it quiets down significantly after that. Overall this hotel is a absolute hidden gem and truly makes going to Kauai affordable. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the property if traffic noise bothers you. We are sound sleepers, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was in room 8 on the second floor and paid 130 a night, stayed seven days, I was right next to the cleaning closet which was very noisy, however I just used this room to sleep at night so it wasn't an issue.

The location is close to the highway but the traffic noise didn't really seem to bother me, and it is much quieter at night. My room was spacious however the bathroom was the size of a small closet, the water pressure was strong. Their was a nice coffee machine with quality kona coffee, microwave, bar fridge, tv, free wifi , and a nice balcony.

The motel is centrally located on the island so you can choose to go either north or south if you have a rental car, if you're walking it is very close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The friendly staff were extremely helpful and provide free beach gear, movies and breakfast snacks in the mornings.

I really like the way the owners have decorated the place in bright colours, you can tell they put their heart and sole into the place, very nicely done. This hotel has a homey feel to it and I prefer this to a five star any day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Central location, good for island sightseeing. Restaurants and beach nearby. Free coffee and free selected breakfast items in the morning, free Wi-Fi, free parking, free DVD borrowing. Owners and staff are unusually friendly and helpful. Traffic noise from nearby road might bother some, but not us. (We're sound sleepers, plus our room was near the fountain/waterfall which provided a pleasant background sound). An excellent choice at a modest (for Kauai) price. We stayed there for 10 nights over the 2013 Christmas holidays, and hated to leave.

Room Tip: A room located near the waterfall, in back of the hotel, minimizes the sound of any road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I booked online. The allocated room 221 is on the ground floor tucked behind reception. Very dark, cramped. The ?kitchen? is blessed with a microwave and single bed. No balcony, no view, smelled of lack of little use as if others had looked at it and left. The main room is small yet jammed with a queen bed, a single bed, a small round table, two chairs and a tv. Simply awful. Claustrophobic. I cancelled, and booked elsewhere. The receptionist is delightful and I suspect has heard many similar complaints about this particular room. The other rooms may be better but I did not see them as the Inn was otherwise booked out.

Room Tip: Avoid room 221 at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are sorry the room you booked didn't suit your needs. I am very glad to hear the staff gave you a full refund, and tried to find a different room. The Garden Island Inn has only 21 rooms and many different bedding configurations, room sizes, view & balcony options. I truly wish you would have called our hotel to make this reservation, rather than Expedia because we would have made sure you were booking a room with a balcony, a view , the proper bedding arrangement, and the size of room you would have been comfortable with. This ground floor room you booked is a good choice for many people with certain needs, handicapped or small family. Please call or use our website, which has pictures and discription on the rooms, our hotel reservation staff knows the best rooms to accommodate the perfect room for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.