We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, fun, funky -- a delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Concord, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun, funky -- a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We expected a good experience from the reviews we read, but we were still surprised -- and delighted. The Inn is not for those that are happy only in an opulent resort atmosphere -- the beach isn't right outside the door and our shower was too small to be comfortable (not enough to dent our 5-star rating), but the bed was incredibly comfortable, the room was clean, the proprietors and staff are friendly and helpful, all the necessary amenities were in place; and games, movies, beach and surf gear are freely available to borrow. Beach, the airport, and good, reasonably-priced restaurants are nearby. And the room and gardens -- and the proprietors -- are INTERESTING! We'll stay here again in a heartbeat!

E. Lee

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    87
    35
    5
    6
See reviews for
65
190
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoodsport, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The pictures online made it look like the place was on the beach so we were disappointed when we saw that it was across a busy road then a public park and then the beach. The room we got was very small - I mean claustrophobic small - double bed accessible from one side only as it was up against the wall. This room was right for one person on a quick overnight. We decided not to stay and they offered us an immediate refund but also offered to up-grade us so we checked out the new room and it was fine. Nice size, balcony, view of the water. We stayed three nights and they really won us over. Germaine was the leader of the pack - friendly and full of very useful suggestions and information. All front desk and room attendants were very friendly. Coffee and cookies each morning at the front desk area as well as beach towels, folding chairs and other good stuff.

Location is perfect to start your trip out or for an overnight before early departure as it is close to the airport. There are a number of good restaurants and shops within walking distance. We liked JJ's for BBQ and island food (pulled pork and cabbage with an island flavor was my favorite).

Room Tip: Third floor, center area that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Where do I begin with the review? Amazing, perfect, one of the highlights of the trip? Those would be a few words to describe my stay at the Garden Island Inn. From the moment my friend and I arrived we were treated like family. Use of all the beach items they had, tips on where to go, staff that were genuinely interested in you and what you were doing. At one point they even tried to find a toaster oven for my friend to use because she was craving cookies, where can you find a place that will do that for you?

The room was cozy and comfortable. The kitchenette suited our needs and we were able to have some breakfasts and snacks in the room saving on our eating out all week.

The staff were amazing. I have stayed in resorts, 5 star hotels and have never had the experience as I did here. Both my friend and I were very touched that on our visit it was a staff members birthday, and we were actually invited to their home to celebrate with them. Each morning there was fresh coffee and a smile asking what we had planned for the day, and the housekeeping staff were fantastic. We were never for want of anything.

This is not a resort destination, you will not find a lavish pool or over priced restaurant on property. You will find a quaint hotel steeped in Hawaiian charm that makes you feel like you are actually in Hawaii. The grounds are very well maintained, with ample areas to sit outside and enjoy the beauty of the gardens. You will hear chickens... you are on Kauai, so really you will need to get used to it.

I loved its location as it was within walking distance of the ABC for little things needed, Dukes and The Feral Pig (both great places to eat) and right across from the beach.

I will come back, and this will definitely be one of those places that I tell everyone about if they want to get a good feel of Kauai and experience a more local flavor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My 17 yo Son and I (a guy) stayed at the Garden Island Inn in Lihue for two nights in May and our stay was perfect. The location was perfect for us with Dukes and the Beach being a short walk away. Beautifully kept facility in every way from the room to the wonderful places to sit outside the rooms looking over/into the plants/gardens surrounding 3/4 of the hotel. This is a small hotel/property but perfect for "non-resort" visits to Kauai and far exceeded my expectations that were already pretty high from the other TA reviewers. We had the very nice and large king/single room with full kitchen and 3 balcony areas on the third floor other reviews described by number - it is a very nice room. Now, we are very active (out by 9 am/back after 8 pm) so we typically spend little time at hotels swimming in their pools, sitting in their bars/restaurants and wandering their incredible and expansive garden areas so not having (nor paying for) the many amenities resorts like the Grand Hyatt (a beautiful resort outside Lihue) offer made the Garden Island Inn absolutely perfect for our stay. The two people we interacted with at the office were very nice and my Son did use some of their free use beach items.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although simple in its style and accommodations, this hotel has quite a homey feel, somewhat comfortable and convenient in terms of location to nearby shops and restaurants and off the the view and the kalapaki beach.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and made the stay extra pleasant. I would definitely stay here again if i'm ever in Kauai again

Room Tip: If travelling with heavy luggage try the ground floor as there are only stairs to the 2nd and 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We celebrated our 20th anniversary on August 7, 2013. The photos of the condo are deceiving! They do not do justice to it. It is a great place to get away. The staff is wonderful, helpful and friendly. Definitely recommended for a quiet time to relax. The pool and barbecues are only a few feet away. The local bus stops out front and costs $0.50.
A car is necessary if you do not like climbing hills with groceries though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Garden Island Inn's Hale Kalapaki condo 9/9/13 - 9/14/13. Our stay at this wonderful place exceeded all of our expectations. The service, location, and value were excellent. Most of all, we enjoyed the staff's hospitality, professionalism, and courtesy. They treated us just like family and truly personified the aloha spirit. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for an unbelievable vacation in Kaua'i. We will definitely return soon!

Mahalo,
The Ali Family

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family and/or with more than 2 people, consider staying in the Hale Kala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Hotel
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.