We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable, comfortable and clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
vancouver WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Adorable, comfortable and clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a gem. We needed a place to spend one night before checking into our timeshare. Located close to the airport on the harbor the Inn is beautifully landscaped. We had a second floor room with a waterfall outside our door. We were greeted by friendly staff that showed the welcoming spirit of Kauia. Our room was cute, clean and just what we needed. The art work on the walls and exterior of the building adds to the charm. We would stay here again and recommend it for those not looking for the resort experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    116
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
81
227
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I were visiting family in Oahu and wanted a get-away to Kauai. I'd been to the Islands before and didn't want another "resort" experience. I didn't have much hope that I'd be able to find a nice "little hotel", but I did, the Garden Island Inn!
The owners and staff are genuinely friendly and helpful and have the true spirit of aloha. We borrowed their beach chairs, towels and various other items which was very handy.
But to the basics: the room was clean and comfortable, everything worked. The bathroom was recently remodeled. Kitchenette very handy for storing and eating snacks. The garden was beautiful and cozy. The decor was absolutely one-of-kind and charming. Parking ample. Walking distance to great shopping and dining. Sane prices.
So stay at the Garden Island Inn and enjoy true local color and friendliness......no pretension or inflated prices, a perfect little tropical hotel.

Room Tip: Book early for best selection of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Been meaning to write about the wonderful staff. They show the true welcoming spirit of the islands. You have a real jewel at the desk. (Germaine) She takes great pleasure in welcoming everyone and making their
stay an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

showed up an found we were upgraded to a better room which was a plus!
things our room had:
- small fridge
-A/C
- sink
- coffee maker with complimentary coffee! and mugs!
- recycling bin!!!!!!!!!!
- complimentary map of the island
- balcony

only bad side is the ants found their way in the window and were covering the toilet paper for some reason... perhaps an small ant problem? it happened both days and I had to take the toilet paper off the wall to keep it from being a big problem. Maybe a stand up toilet paper dispenser not near the window would be the solution!

Room Tip: second floor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed in the Orchid Suite the night we arrived on the island. The hotel is 5 minutes from the airport and is perfect for late arrivals when you don't want to drive to your hotel on the north or south of the island in the dark when you're tired from a long flight. But I came away thinking it would be a great place to stay for your whole trip to the island. It is a very cute and comfortable place to stay, priced quite reasonably, and in a great location -- right across from Kalapaki Beach and near shopping and restaurants. Another advantage is being midway between the north and south shores, so it's not a bad drive to either.
The Orchid Suite is very roomy, has A/C, and a little kitchenette for cooking basic meals. The staff is very friendly, and they have all sorts of beach accessories you can check out for free (towels, chairs, umbrellas, even sunscreen). We were near the waterfall in their garden, which was very soothing. We didn't notice any noise at all from the road or the airport. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Orchid Suite is spacious, has air conditioning, a kitchenette, and soothing background noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My family stayed here during a recent trip to Kauai. We stayed in an orchid room. It was a decent size, with a queen and king bed, small kitchen area (microwave, small fridge, sink, coffee maker). The room was clean and cheery, and plenty of room for the three of us. It was conveniently located so we could drive to the North or South. Across the street were several restaurants, including Dukes which has a great view on the beach. There were also several shops in walking distance. We also liked that we could borrow their beach chairs, boogie boards and towels. The staff was very pleasant.

It is not a 5 star hotel, but it is very nice, clean and the grounds were lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 which has a nice view of the beach across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Garden Island Inn and would happily have stayed longer. It was all we needed and more. The location is great, right in the middle of the island, so our day trips were easy. And just across from Kalapaki Beach, a beautiful little crescent outside the Marriott hotel. Duke's restaurants are all there. The sun comes up over Kalapaki so we were treated to lovely morning sunshine. The kitchenettes are clean but small. Our suite though was huge, and the island decor makes you smile. All the staff we met were friendly and kind and sincerely tried to do whatever they could for us. Free use of beach gear was an extra surprise, and the cookies and coffee (help yourself) was a bonus. We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suite 21 was huge and had great balconies. The street noise did not bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.