We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Garden Island Inn and would happily have stayed longer. It was all we needed and more. The location is great, right in the middle of the island, so our day trips were easy. And just across from Kalapaki Beach, a beautiful little crescent outside the Marriott hotel. Duke's restaurants are all there. The sun comes up over Kalapaki so we were treated to lovely morning sunshine. The kitchenettes are clean but small. Our suite though was huge, and the island decor makes you smile. All the staff we met were friendly and kind and sincerely tried to do whatever they could for us. Free use of beach gear was an extra surprise, and the cookies and coffee (help yourself) was a bonus. We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suite 21 was huge and had great balconies. The street noise did not bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    116
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
81
227
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had one extra night in Kauai and needed a place to stay. We were initially in a room with 1 king and 2 twins and requested a foldout bed, but we got upgraded to a king and 3 twins beds which was great. We were on the back side of the hotel and didn't have any noise problems. The room also had A/C which we don't normally have in our timeshare on the island. While the rooms were smallish, it was perfect for what we needed (beds and a bit of space).
The hotel was also extremely accommodating as most of our family left in the morning but one flight wasn't until late that night. The staff gave great recommendations about how to get around on the bus and also allowed use of all the beach supplies for the day even though we were technically checked out. Staff is one reason I would use the place again if I need a quick room. The hotel is also right next to the bus stop which is very convenient to get around. Also with the Marriott across the street, there is easy access to all sorts of restaurants and trips to organize.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrill lake
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great place to stay and enjoy a friendly beach of Lihue. Helpful staff, fully recommend unit 21. Best view in our opinion within the premises. Perfect for early flight as very close to airport. Rooms have a special personal touch.
Pete & Kylie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have lived in Honolulu for over 25 years and it was great to get away for the weekend on an outer island Yacht Race. The Garden Island Inn is conveniently located near Nawiliwili Harbor. There are a multitude of restaurants and shops very close by in walking distance.
As an Architect; I really enjoyed the property as each room is unique and all have original artwork from a local artist. It's not your run of the mill "Big Box Hotel" which Hawaii has it's share. I highly recommend checking this place out if you are looking for a "Local Style" place with a laid back feel. The Owners; Steve & Lis live on the premises and are extremely friendly and helpful. They even gave me a ride to the Yacht Club. The grounds are small but immaculate. Kauai No Ka Oi!

Room Tip: Top Floor Units are a little quieter as there is no one above you. Most Rooms offer a Lanai with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent 3 lovely nights at this hotel in one of the condo units (k129). The condo was large and spacious and very clean. All amenities provided with plentiful soap, towels, and even laundry detergent. The condo had a lovely view of the mountain and ocean across the street. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and the lobby was full of towels and beach equipment for patron use. Overall a wonderful experience. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Small rooms, but price was nice. Owners are so nice. They let your borrow all the beach stuff, chairs, snorkeling equipment etc. So did not have to rent any equipment! Bay across the street is good, has beach, walking area. Overall a good lower priced place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

To us this property captures the aloha spirit of Hawaii. Convenient location across from beach. Spotlessly clean. Well maintained. Fresh flowers in each room. Good value. Independently owned/operated. Thoughtful complimentary snacks in lobby. Easy to work with. We were very pleased and highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had second floor with nice view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.