We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lihue
Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

To us this property captures the aloha spirit of Hawaii. Convenient location across from beach. Spotlessly clean. Well maintained. Fresh flowers in each room. Good value. Independently owned/operated. Thoughtful complimentary snacks in lobby. Easy to work with. We were very pleased and highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had second floor with nice view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    104
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
78
211
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Located in a very convenient area within walking distance of shopping and a great beach. Large rooms with unique decorating. The staff was extremely accommodating. There are beach items to check out, popcorn and movies for movie night in your room and games, there are very god restaurants within walking range and a few good bars with great Happy Hours. They light up the front and,balconies with Christmas tree lights every night that give the atmosphere a magical feel.

Room Tip: Room 16 is nice and big and sleeps four even though there were only two of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Old style island units, curtain between main "living area/twin beds" and the bedroom unit. Has a small kitchenette with dorm style fridge, 3 twin beds, a king bed, and roomy bathroom. The unit has a small wall a/c unit but with the slider off the balcony open and the ceiling fans going you don't need it. The key to this boutique hotel is the staff - they are EXCELLENT. We were greeted with cookies, offered cold water, quickly checked in and offered free boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach towels, beach mats, etc. - stuff our "big name time share" had charged us for during the previous week. They even offered by husband use of their surfboard! The beach is across the street and though we like the beaches better in Princeville and Hanalei, it wasn't crowded at all. I really appreciated the friendly staff and would gladly recommend this to anyone looking for a quieter pace without the high cost of the big name hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really loved this small hotel,the hosts are amazing & can't do enough for their guests,they even supply free snorkelling gear,beach chairs & even sunscreen, not to mention free coffee & biscuits every day,it is very close to lovely beaches & great restaurants & we felt like we were staying with family instead of a hotel,well done to all the staff at this wonderful hotel.
Mahalo & hopefully we will visit you again in the future !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but go for the top floor,great water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice: couldn't ask for nicer people who run the place. The place is old but is kept in tip top shape. Everything is clean and neat and well taken care of. The room we had was spacious and had an amazing balcony and view with lounges and chairs and a table on the balcony. Our balcony covered two sides and overlooked the ocean. The room had a living area, kitchenette and eating table. The front desk had available for the guests at no charge, beach towels, beach chairs, beach Matt's, snorkel gear, bogie boards etc. the grounds were manicured to perfection.
Noisy: it sits on a busy highway with cars going by regularly. When the cars stop going by so frequently, you can hear the ocean waves crashing along the beach across the street. Last but not least, Kauai is plagued with chickens and roosters everywhere. You will certainly hear the roosters at sun up every morning. I would stay here again if I wanted to stay near Lihue.

Room Tip: Room 21 is amazing. Also there are rooms on the backside of the hotel facing a man made waterfall t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were planning to go to Kauai for our honeymoon, therefore, we needed to
find accommodations.

While researching our hotel options which included reading the reviews
of several experienced travelers, we decided on the Garden island Inn.

Our decision was due to the fact that The Garden Island Inn appeared more
'native looking' and more personable than a larger corporate chain option.

Our expectations were met and surpassed by the Garden Island Inn staff and
its amenities.

Our assigned room (room # 21) was rather spacious and was great: it was very
nice, very clean, and well kept by daily room service. Our whole experience
was exceptional; with the 2 lanais(with plenty of patio furniture) and the
3 sliding glass doors over-looking the ocean, we always had a Hawaiian trade
wind breeze coming through our rooms.

In addition to the king-size bed, which was very comfortable, we had a
large kitchen / living room with a TV, microwave, fridge, sink. I can't
think
of anything else we would have needed. The bedroom also had a TV and the
bathroom could be easily shared without being in each other's personal
space.

The Garden Island Inn offers no pool (which we wouldn't have used anyway)
because we prefer the beach: conveniently, Kalapaki Beach was right across
the street. We could gab coffee across the street on the way to the beach:
various shops and restaurants were also conveniently located within walking
distance (less than a five minutes).

The front office lobby offered daily: free cookies and snacks along with
complimentary beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, suntan lotion, and
so much more.

We would leave for the day and had the use of coolers if we needed them (I
could go
on and on about all of the "extras") . There were also no "resort fees" and
parking was complimentary. The staff was excellent and would attend to any
need you might have. We are definitely coming back to Kauai...and we will
absolutely stay at The Garden Island Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A dear friend and I stayed at the lovely Garden Island Inn, in Lihue, for only one night, (and will now be for a longer stay on a future trip due to value and our experience!). Unique concept with colorful beautiful local Kauai Art throughout the Inn/Hotel, quaint & quiet garden area, our suite was clean and comfortable beds, with kitchenette, affordable and close to lovely Kalapaki beach (our suite was the ‘Orchid Suite’ on top floor with view of the beach). It was a perfect spot and stayover from the Airport, where we then headed the next day to the North Shore for the rest of our paradise stay in Kauai. We enjoyed a great brunch the next morning, at the Kalapaki “beach hut”, at Germaine’s recommendation...the same sweet woman I booked our stay over the phone with, and chatted with!).

The staff, and hospitality unique to an “Inn or small Hotel” & friendly Owners we chatted with, all warmed our hearts with their own stories, and Germaine, with her authentic aloha spirit and smile ...made our short stay at the Garden Island Inn the "home stopover" that it was. Offering their authentic generosity and helpfulness (above and beyond), in so many ways, just as 'friends' would, and always with aloha spirit, smiles and laughs. On our return from the North Shore to Lihue, we stopped by again to visit the Inn and staff, and were thrilled to see Germaine there again...very helpful in storing our luggage, while we returned our rental car across from the Inn before our return flight, and we shared more stories of our incredible stay on Kauai. And Germaine, your gifted macadamia chocolates were heartfelt & delicious of course...mahalo again, for your thoughtfulness! ~S~ We both left some aloha roots there along with our footprints, to return again to the tropical paradise we found and your welcome tradewinds (and will stay at the Garden Island Inn longer on next visit). Mahalo to our new friends at the Garden Island Inn - you have a quaint & lovely treasure in paradise! "A hui hou" from your new friends ‘M&M’ with an abundance of newfound aloha spirit! ~S In the meantime...we’ll keep the aloha alive in seeing your Facebook page posts!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the top floor Orchid suite w/kitchenette, and a partial view of garden, Kalapaki beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.