We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely paradise friendly home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely paradise friendly home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A dear friend and I stayed at the lovely Garden Island Inn, in Lihue, for only one night, (and will now be for a longer stay on a future trip due to value and our experience!). Unique concept with colorful beautiful local Kauai Art throughout the Inn/Hotel, quaint & quiet garden area, our suite was clean and comfortable beds, with kitchenette, affordable and close to lovely Kalapaki beach (our suite was the ‘Orchid Suite’ on top floor with view of the beach). It was a perfect spot and stayover from the Airport, where we then headed the next day to the North Shore for the rest of our paradise stay in Kauai. We enjoyed a great brunch the next morning, at the Kalapaki “beach hut”, at Germaine’s recommendation...the same sweet woman I booked our stay over the phone with, and chatted with!).

The staff, and hospitality unique to an “Inn or small Hotel” & friendly Owners we chatted with, all warmed our hearts with their own stories, and Germaine, with her authentic aloha spirit and smile ...made our short stay at the Garden Island Inn the "home stopover" that it was. Offering their authentic generosity and helpfulness (above and beyond), in so many ways, just as 'friends' would, and always with aloha spirit, smiles and laughs. On our return from the North Shore to Lihue, we stopped by again to visit the Inn and staff, and were thrilled to see Germaine there again...very helpful in storing our luggage, while we returned our rental car across from the Inn before our return flight, and we shared more stories of our incredible stay on Kauai. And Germaine, your gifted macadamia chocolates were heartfelt & delicious of course...mahalo again, for your thoughtfulness! ~S~ We both left some aloha roots there along with our footprints, to return again to the tropical paradise we found and your welcome tradewinds (and will stay at the Garden Island Inn longer on next visit). Mahalo to our new friends at the Garden Island Inn - you have a quaint & lovely treasure in paradise! "A hui hou" from your new friends ‘M&M’ with an abundance of newfound aloha spirit! ~S In the meantime...we’ll keep the aloha alive in seeing your Facebook page posts!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the top floor Orchid suite w/kitchenette, and a partial view of garden, Kalapaki beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    100
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
74
202
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Comfy, clean room with kitchenette, air con and free wifi. A short walk to beach, shops and restaurants. This hotel is very convenient for Lihue airport. Staff very friendly and helpful. It is by a road but we were not disturbed by any noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After much deliberation on where to stay on our trip to Kauai, we finally decided on Garden Island Inn and it proved to be a great decision. We arrived to check in and were greeted by a lovely lady in the reception who really set the tone for what would continue to be some of the nicest staff we've encountered in a hotel setting of this type. All the staff were friendly, accommodating and there to help. We were upgraded to Room 121, with a fabulous view over Kalapaki Bay and a spacious and well layed out apartment style room with great amenities (microwave, fridge, sink, blender, two tvs and good air conditioning). It is situated on a mildly busy road, but the noise never got to a point where it was annoying and the amount of great stuff nearby makes this a perfect location for someone looking for a central location in Kauai. There is some pretty great food very close by (highly recommend Kalapaki Beach Hut for an out of this world burger and taro fries: an ABC Store for groceries about 100m away: and Duke's Barefoot Bar very close). Overall, a perfect location, great staff, awesome local amenities and a very cute and homely setting; this is a great option for travellers on a mid-range budget, looking for something a little different to the resort type setting. Would gladly return!

Room Tip: Room 121 really is the pick of the bunch, great views and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at Garden Island Inn after our flight arrived around 8:30pm. That was too late to drive out to our B&B, so they recommended this place and we were really happy with it. It wasn't until we had explored the entire island that we realized just how good the location is if you're driving a lot. Clean rooms, friendly staff. If it was a bit cheaper I would consider spending more time there on our next visit to Kauai. Our room with tax was $130/night, reasonable for motel-style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Trip Advisor:

Garden Island Inn - Kauai: Stayed May 2nd and May 10th, 2013

We were very pleased with our two one-night stays at the Garden Island Inn [hotel] It is a budget hotel and as such I would give it five stars for the amenities it offers. The staff was very friendly and helpful providing us with a cooler, free cookies and information on sites to see and things to do. The hotel is clean [even immaculate]. It offers comfortable beds, coffee, tea, a refrigerator without a bunch of junk in it; and even a small microwave. The bath was small but plenty of hot water. The grounds are nicely landscaped; and there is even a small pond with coy and in back an artifical [man-made] waterfall. Original paintings are throughout – in the lobby, in each room and even the the doors.
The location is very convenient – across the street from a shopping plaza [ABC store, restaurants, etc ; as well as a park and the city bus stop. It is within easy walking distance to the cruise ship or Kalapaki Beach. We asked for a ground floor room as there is no elevator [we are in our 70’s]. We stayed there on arrival since we couldn’t get into our timeshare exchange until the next day and we also stayed there at the end of the timeshare week as we couldn’t get into our rental apartment on the north shore without a one day gap as well. No extra cleaning charges for the one-night stay. Would we stay there again? In a heart beat. Great little budget hotel. Oh, yes, the ubiquitous rooster and chickens are there as they are anywhere on Kauai. Finally, the hotel is just a couple miles from Lihue airport; Walmart; the Times Supermarket; Home Depot, and the Cheveron gas station [Rice Street].

Room Tip: No elevator. Best views are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you are looking for a basic and comfortable location to explore Kauai from then this hotel is ideal. It is about 5 minutes drive from the airport and beside the beach. There are several restaurants you can walk to including Duke's. There is also an ABC store across the road. The room doors open to the outside like a motel. There is a small fridge and microwave in the room. Everything is clean and in good order and the staff are very friendly. I love to stay at fancy resort hotels (don't stay here if this is what you are looking for) but I really enjoyed the Garden Isle Inn. Other reviews mentioned traffic noise but I did not notice this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Garden Island Inn is a great place to stay in Kauai! Right in the heart of Lihue, it is across the street from Kalapaki Beach, and a mile from a great shopping mall (Kukui Grove) as well as stores within walking distance. The staff is wonderful, the units are beautifully decorated with artwork by Camille Fontaine. There are a lot of complimentary beach items available for use, which came in very handy! The coffee and fresh flowers were also great! Many wonderful memories of our stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.