We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good basic small hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good basic small hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Kauai can be an expensive place in terms of accomodation if you haven't booked anything in advance (mainly "vacational rental" as they call it).
So this is a small hotel, well located in Lihue, at a walking distance from a beach that will suit kids.
Staff is great, very helpfull and attentive, free use of small boogie boards or other "beach" equipment that you could need.
cons : curtains can't manage to keep the room dark, and wall are not that thick...so you could expect a bit of nois in case of a late or early shower from the room next door.
Stiil a very good deal for the area. Would recommand it, but just a making it your "night base" (i mean : don t think spending anything else than the night time..)

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    101
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
76
207
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wouldn't stay anywhere else. In the two weeks I have been here I feel like part of the family. Complementary beach towels & chairs, snorkel equip, books, movies, nutrition bars, cookies and coffee provided in the office. Cosy, quaint, charming. Super friendly staff. A true taste of the ALOHA spirit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a well loved, beautiful property that reminds you of the way things used to be. Local calls are free, vending machine cokes are $0.75, and beach equipment is available to check out. The staff treats their guests just the way they would want to be treated and are wonderful people.
Although the rooms are small, they are clean and well appointed with beautiful island paintings done by a local artist. Fresh flowers from the many gardens on the property brighten the rooms.
If you are expecting a high end hotel, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for amazingly friendly service, a "happy" old fashioned hotel..then stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to book the type of room that meets your needs. Booking online gives you mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have been intending to write about our fabulous 11 night stay at the Garden Island Inn two months ago in February. We found this gem right here on Trip Advisor last fall. It looked just like the warm and friendly place we would love, and it truly is! I was just looking at our pictures of Kauai and recalling how happy we were with the Garden Island Inn and the lovely folks who took such good care of us! The location of the inn is also perfect, within a short walk of the beach and a great variety of restaurants, central to everything on Kauai, and just a short drive to the airport.
Kauai is an incredible island and the Garden Island Inn is a cozy retreat with everything we wanted (at a very affordable price!). We are looking forward to a return visit to both Kauai and the Garden Island Inn.
Aloha and Mahalo to the folks at the Garden Island Inn!

Room Tip: We were room 18, third floor. Probably more spacious than we needed, but it was pleasant to relax a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I just love this little place! Please do not make a reservation expecting all the bells and whistles of a Hyatt or the St. Regis - this is a locally owned, budget minded family hotel. But those who staff the Inn are some of the friendliest and warmest people that I've met on the island. At the end of my last two-week stay, they felt almost like family.

Each if the rooms is hand painted with festive colors and features original art from a local painter. My mom and I found the decor to be quaint and unique. The rooms are quite comfortable, but a tad on the small side if you get a standard room. We opted for two twin beds instead of the queen bed as I didn't fancy sleeping next to my mom for two weeks. The beds are adequate - not terribly soft but they suffice. Each room has AC, which is great for those few really warm and humid days.

The rooms all have a little wet bar area, with sink, fridge, microwave, and utensils. It's small, but useable. There is one small closet area and two dressers - more than enough storage space for two people staying a week or so. The bathrooms are small, but very clean. Thankfully, the shower pressure was nice so I got a lovely hot shower each morning. Parking is adequate for the hotel, but understand that if you are returning to the hotel at night, you will likely have to park along the dead end drive instead of a designated spot in front of the hotel. There is no room safe, which was disappointing as I must travel with my laptop and pro camera.

The Inn is located directly on a very busy street in Lihue that is access for the commercial and industrial area of the city center. You WILL be aware of traffic noise, so if you're seeking silence, you'll be disappointed. However, i found that running the AC covered most of the traffic noise and i had little trouble sleeping. But the Inn is located just across the street from the beach, a lovely park, and grand resort, shopping, and several restaurants. The shops nearby are quite nice, offering just about everything you need for your trip, including an ABC store with snacks, drinks, and convenience items. The park and beach are frequented by locals and tourists. But the inn is easy to access and find and is only five minutes to the airport and about equal distance to the west and north sides of the island. You WILL need a car in this location!

The small gardens are just lovely, with several water features, beautiful tall growth, and the lovely scents of Hawaii. There are several sitting areas and a few tables as well. We spent many an evening in the gardens just chatting and enjoying watching the people coming and going. The hotel also offers maps, free beach gear, and a number of movies to watch. If you need anything, just as the office and they're always accommodating. I especially appreciated Germaine in the front office - she was a dear and one of the warmest and most genuine persons I've met during my frequents trips to Kauai.

If you're looking for central location, clean, cute, but budget-minded, this is a great place to stop and rest while in Kauai. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Since Kauai coast resort was fully booked, we had to stay at Garden Inn for one night in early April. The location really turns me off as it is so closed to the major road, where the noise from the traffic could be heard all night long. If you do not mind noise, this place is perfect for low budget travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loofer, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Aloha, I am sorry you were disapointed with our location. I have expierience from owning the Garden Island Inn for 25 years now that if first time visitors arrive after dark or have just driven down from the airport, they have no way of knowing that there is the most lovely beach and beach walk , with great places for a meal or a late night snack, a few minutes walk away. I have found that once our guest see how convient everything is they usually want to extend there stay with us . We are on a road and the traffic varieus from day to night. I would hope and sugest that every one of our new guest on arrival , and light sleepers, their first night with the time change, have a nice stroll along the water and sand or a swim before retireing, and close the doors and windows and turn on the AC at least for their first night. I do hope the rest of your stay on Kauai was wonderfuf and I am sure that it was. With Aloha, Steve Layne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We chose this inn based on many positive reviews, and we were not disappointed. The building itself is nothing special, but the rooms are large and very nicely done up. Lots of paintings and flower motifs make this a very friendly place, and the people at the front desk are very friendly and helpful as well. And lots of flowers in the garden! There are several restaurants nearby, and a nice beach is just a hundred yards, across the road. The hotel is conveniently located about a mile from the airport at Lihue, but there's no airplane noise. It's also convenient to get to both North and South sides of the island, a good base for day trips. We enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper floor rooms with a better view, although you will have to carry up your lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.