We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm, friendly and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“warm, friendly and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

so many nice things to say about the garden island inn. all the staff are as nice and welcoming as can be from front desk to housekeeping; and are very helpful with suggestions and directions. room is pleasant and comfortable. great location: 5 minute walk to beach, convenient to airport and the entire island, like being at a midpoint for exploring beautiful kauai. they have movies, books, beach towels, umbrellas and chairs, boogie boards, coolers for the borrowing. granola bars, cookies all day and fresh-squeezed tangelo juice and fab. coffee each morning. Germaine, Joyce and Jan are the warmest staff ever!! Mahalo for our 10-day idyll.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    100
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
74
202
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is conveniently a short walk to the beach and the restaurants around the Mariott resort. It also is colourful, the doors and outside murals beautifully painted by a former resident artist. The two downsides are (a) it's near the port so the area is a bit industrial and (b) it's on a main highway so all the rooms have quite a bit of road noise all day. Lihue is a small town, so the noise does stop late a night. It's a friendly place. Rooms have window a/c units and ceiling fans.

Room Tip: larger rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

What an awesome, adorable and relaxing place to stay before going to our Princeville 3 week vacation and returning for a stay prior to boarding our plane to return to Ohio. Everyone was so helpful, friendly and we "talked story". We will surely stay here again and for a week ....or more, along with our timeshare.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our short 3 day stay. The property is older but wears its age well. The rooms and doors are adorned with hand painted pictures that are a perfect match for the area and atmosphere. Manager friendly and accommodating would visit again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I searched for a non-chain-hotel type place and with the help of reviews, chose this one. It's exactly as described. It's charming, the staff is friendly, I had everything I wanted and then some. It has a/c, free loaner items at the desk, and free wi-fi which was strong enough to enjoy. I loved my room, exactly as pictured on their site. It has free parking (and the lot seemed full sometimes.). If you are staying here you need a car to explore the island, but you can walk to small shops, a lovely beach, and restaurants at the Marriott. There was just a little traffic noise and the birds do sing, including the chickens that are everywhere. It's a three story building with stairs, not much to see out the windows, but very pleasant and casual inside. I'm so glad I found it, because it was exactly what I wanted.

Room Tip: See their site for photos, just as pictured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 6 wonderful days.
Room 21 was very comfortable and the quirky hotel supplied chairs, mats, boogie boards for the beach plus DVD's, juice from their own "tangerone" tree, cookies and every courtesy.
We would certainly stay here again if we visit the beautiful green island of Kauai again.
A wonderful change from major chain hotels.
Bring ear plugs. Some rooms are near a main road and the island wide chicken infestation can mean cocks crowing throughout the night.

Room Tip: Stretch to an orchid suite. The extra space is well worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Alberta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My brother and I stumbled upon the Garden Inn as we were aimlessly driving south-east to get away from the rain after a long, wet, multiday hike on the Napali coast!! I walked in to check the rates and asked to see a room (you just never know). We were so pleasantly surprised with the sweet and cheery rooms. Everything we needed to dry out and get a few comfortable night's of rest. I normally prefer to stay in 4+ star hotels (when I'm not camping), but that's because most motels and cheap hotels do not have the charm and comfort of this little place. Total score. The beds were perfect and comfortable (and there were 2 beds which is great if you're sharing with your brother!). Really loved the little balcony overlooking the gardens below. The office staff were incredibly nice and so were the housekeeping staff! One of the nice ladies even let us throw our absolutely-soaked-to-the-core rain jackets in the dryer:) The office had free movies and pocorn, and coffee, fresh juice and granola bars in the mornings. Just really nice little touches that add up to a great little place to stay. Great location to walk around too, good shopping and eats nearby, and a little surf beach. I stayed last year, and have such fond memories, I'm definately staying here again. Thanks for saving me from a boring hotel room and having the best value around:) Seriously, stay here if you want something a little different with a lotta good!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.