We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Discount on extended stay
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Hinton, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A really nice little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My brother and I stumbled upon the Garden Inn as we were aimlessly driving south-east to get away from the rain after a long, wet, multiday hike on the Napali coast!! I walked in to check the rates and asked to see a room (you just never know). We were so pleasantly surprised with the sweet and cheery rooms. Everything we needed to dry out and get a few comfortable night's of rest. I normally prefer to stay in 4+ star hotels (when I'm not camping), but that's because most motels and cheap hotels do not have the charm and comfort of this little place. Total score. The beds were perfect and comfortable (and there were 2 beds which is great if you're sharing with your brother!). Really loved the little balcony overlooking the gardens below. The office staff were incredibly nice and so were the housekeeping staff! One of the nice ladies even let us throw our absolutely-soaked-to-the-core rain jackets in the dryer:) The office had free movies and pocorn, and coffee, fresh juice and granola bars in the mornings. Just really nice little touches that add up to a great little place to stay. Great location to walk around too, good shopping and eats nearby, and a little surf beach. I stayed last year, and have such fond memories, I'm definately staying here again. Thanks for saving me from a boring hotel room and having the best value around:) Seriously, stay here if you want something a little different with a lotta good!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoboprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is a jewel. The hand painted walls; doors and ceilings are great, original art work everywhere. The place is very quite; convenient and lovely. The gardens are great. Fresh flowers in the room everyday were awesome as well. Even better no big resort "hub bub"!! A couple of mornings the staff even brought in fresh squeezed tangelo juice!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We landed after dark, and it was easy to get here. Took only a couple of minutes. We were pleasantly surprised with the clean, large room. It was very cheery and colorful. In the bathroom, I heard the waterfall out back, which was very pleasant. There was a coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge. The price was very good, and all the unique things to look at made us very happy that we stayed there. We spent a few minutes in the office visiting, and looking around. Great, friendly people. They take a lot of time and trouble to make the place bright, cheery and interesting. Loved all the hand painted walls. Bright colorful pictures. I would defintiely go there again when in Kauai. Beach right across the street.

Room Tip: You will enjoy your stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiperfind
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Compared to the Marriot the rates are very reasonable. The location is very good, close to The Feral Pig, Dukes, and other restaurants & stores. The staff is VERY pleasant and accomodating, with good advice & friendly service. Our room was very roomy and works well for kids & all of your stuff. The flip side is the location is close to the street and the windows leak well so sound can be an issue at any hour. Also it felt grimy...and very dated. It is in great need of a rennovation or one heck of a good scrub. Overall I'm glad we stayed but if you can afford it, head to the Sheraton, Marriot or another higher end experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hiperfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Garden Island Inn. Although the decor was a bit unusual, the room was comfortable (though the shower could have been better), and the staff were extremely helpful with recommendations for nearby restaurants and attractions. The rates were also very reasonable; we paid $150/night + tax for a room with king and queen beds and a patio. The room had a microwave and refrigerator and was stocked with mugs, plates, bowls, and disposable plasticware. The front desk offers free coffee and granola bars anytime, and there was fresh squeezed juice there ("from the garden") every morning. Also, guests can borrow games, DVDs, boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, beach towels, and more. The hotel is very close to a selection of restaurants and a decent beach and is near the airport, but I didn't hear airplanes. The artificial waterfall outside provides white noise, and the hotel has a nice garden. It's not a luxury resort, but it's a decent, charming, and convenient place to stay while you're exploring the rest of the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlaf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We will be back. Now that we know layout we will pick a different room next time. Our room was in a corner so had smaller lanai.

Staff was very helpful. Room was clean. they had a microwave and small frig, so we could could cook a dinner and keep beverages cold.

Best part was it was next to Kalapaki Beach and had beach chairs and boogie board we could use. Also they had a cooler, though we had brought a collapsible one with us.

We saved $260 on flight by leaving on Mon rather than Sun. could not get an extra day at Poipu in our time share. m.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

OK, we went to Kauai for a friend's wedding. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency for 3 nights and attended their lovely wedding was on the beach at sunset...Wonderful!

Then we spent the next 5 nights at the Garden Island Inn-
Although the Hyatt was thoroughly luxurious, everything cost extra-a beach chair, the snorkel gear, the bell captain who toted around the luggage, not to mention the $$$ price of the cheapest poolside meal or the breakfast buffet etc etc. OK, so just not totally comfortable for those of us on somewhat of a budget who want to see the islands, not the inside of a hotel, & not just the man-made landscape of a resort.

At the Garden Island Inn, the charming laid back island hospitality was wonderful and the beach chairs, snorkel gear, the fresh squeezed pitcher of tangelo juice in the little lobby...all in the incredibly reasonable price of your room. Great beach (in front of the Marriott) right across the way if you are not being adventuresome & exploring the island every day, which was my preference.

Mind you, this is not the Ritz-it is purely island funky with bright hand painted flowers on the walls and trims of turquiose. The room was small but clean and neat with bright fabrics and paintings that were very charming and seemed to really exude welcome.

This was exactly the place that I felt should be part of an island vacation of hiking, swimming, sunbathing, and generally exploring-not sitting in a hotel room the same as the one back home.

As an added bonus, the island bus stops in front of the Inn and for $2 you can be at the airport in 10 minutes to pick up a rental car or do an inter-island hop. Great shave ice across the road & some very reasonable & good restaurants in the little shopping centers down the road.

This is the place I would come back to if we have the chance again to come back to Kauai!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdimock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing