We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel - very convenient!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Island Inn to your Saves list
Garden Island Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beach Equipment!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little hotel - very convenient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel the first night and the last night of our Na Pali adventure... Jan and the rest of the staff is very friendly, they are very close to the airport, the rooms are decent and everybody is very helpful! our backpacks got soaked in the ocean and the owner offered us to use his dryer... we nice! and the following day he hooked us up with his best friend to sail a catamaran the entire morning, in Hanalei! we had a blast!! thank you all! :)

and it's on the way to Wamea Canyon! very central !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    115
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
81
226
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here one night on our arrival in Kauai. Very clean and cute mom and pop hotel. Road noise was not a problem for us. Across the road from Nawiliwi Park and the beach. Not a big posh resort, but good stay for the budget minded.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed one night at the Garden Island Inn. Great central location in Lihue. Staff is very friendly. Room is a great value for the price and cleanliness. Road noise was not an issue for us. Wish we would have stayed longer, and will definitely be back here on our next visit to Kauai!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Garden Island Inn every time we have visited Kauai and have always loved it. This time we stayed in one of the larger rooms, which was very spacious, but all the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent. The rooms are cheerfully decorated and furnished with Island-style furniture, and there is the original art work of Kauai artist Camile Fontaine on display throughout the hotel. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Kalapaki Beach, the Kauai Marriott Resort, and the Anchor Mall are just across the road. The beautifully designed Duke’s Canoe Club restaurant is also across the street from the Garden Island Inn. The meals and mai tai drinks at Duke’s are good and the Hula Pie is a real treat. Be prepared to share the Hula Pie as it is huge. The Garden Island Inn feels like a home away from home for us. Also, the location is superb as it about equal distance to either end of the road that circles most of Kauai from this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just came home from almost a two-week stay at the Garden Island Inn Hotel in Kauai. It was our first trip to Kauai. We wanted a small hotel, not one of the big chain hotels, that was central and had at least a microwave and frig. I was a big concerned because many reviews mentioned traffic noise and I'm the lightest sleeper on the planet, but the people I spoke to when making the reservation and calling back to ask questions were so nice that we decided to stay there. There was a box of chocolate macadamia nuts in the room with a welcome note. When I couldn't sleep on the first night because of traffic noise even with earplugs, we were moved to another room that was fine for the rest of our stay. We really didn't want to have to go elsewhere. Room 14 for those who are willing to give up a large balcony for less noise. The staff, Sheila, Joyce, Germaine, and Jan, are wonderful - knowledgeable, and really, really nice. They were especially helpful, with regards to places to not pass up, they know all of the really great places on the island and the best beaches and what to expect at each of them. Avelina maintained our room, kept the flowers fresh, replenished the coffee for the coffee maker, and was also very, very pleasant. Wayne, a cheerful man who lives on site, taught us how to use the DVD. We didn't need the A/C - the ceiling fan was enough. The hotel provided beach chairs, towels, beach mats, snorkel gear, granola bars, fruit, books, some DVDs, free wifi, and smiles every day. They maintain notebooks of recommendations for restaurants and other things to do. The hotel is centrally located, across from a beach, with easy access to the rest of the island. We went everywhere during our trip, and on a return visit would stay nowhere else.

Laura & Bill

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, let them know and ask for room 14 or one close to the waterfall to su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very lovely, clean, friendly, and reasonably priced place to stay on Kauai. I've stayed there twice and both times everything was excellent. The staff are friendly, housekeeping is meticulous, and you get the island feel at this hotel. I will be going back, and can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Very friendly hotel, close to the airport, beach across the street, short drive to all activites on the island. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for nice place just after or just before your flight. Rooms include small fridge, microwave, DVD, TV, coffee maker, A/C and fresh flowers. Free wifi, bodyboards, DVDs, games, beach towels, fins... Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floor are cheeper, but you get a dark room. For our second stay, we have selected roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.