We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marjorie's Kauai Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lawai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Save Saved
You added Marjorie's Kauai Inn to your Saves list
P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lawai B&B and Inns
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
“Great Honeymoon Destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon in October, 2011. Best experience of our trip! We spent 8 days prior on O'ahu, but it doesn't compare to the natural beauty and relaxation of Kaua'i. Mike, the Innkeeper was fantastic and very helpful with activities. The breakfasts were amazing with local fruits, granola and the menu was different everyday. We sat on the balcony each morning talking with other guests and the theme was the same. The view of the valley was perfect and the breakfast was great. Each morning of our stay there was a small rain shower that left a perfect rainbow over the valley. You can see the beginning and the end of the rainbow right in front of you. The rooms were perfectly comfortable and nicely decorated. There is a great pool and hot tub on the hillside below the Inn that is great for late night dips under the stars and palm trees. Couldn't ask for a better time. I could go on and on about this place and the island, but it's just perfect and we hope to go back again.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    13
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
200
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A beautiful view of the valley below and the sunset. We had the guest innkeepers who made a wonderful breakfast. They offered some great suggestions of things to do. They were wonderful hosts!
The inn is very quiet.
The bed was a bit soft for us, but the room is very nicely decorated.

Room Tip: We had the Tradewinds room- it had a beautiful view of the valley, but it was quite warm in the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I had a couple of days to explore the southern and western parts of Kauai, and Marjorie's Inn was a perfect location - close to beaches in Poipu and conveniently located as regards a drive to Ele'ele, Hanapepe, Waimea, and the Waimea Canyon. After an active day going around, it was nice to come back to the B&B, relax on the lanai or go for a swim in the pool. The surroundings are very pleasant with an authentic, local character - something you wouldn't get by staying at one of the hotels in Poipu. Luanne and Gary were our guest hosts, and they were very helpful and made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with another couple who were celebrating their 29th anniversary. What drew us to the place was the view and the pool. My girlfriend and I were training for a triathlon and needed to do some swimming. They have a fabulous lap pool that was so refreshing and perfect for us to keep training. The motto at the inn is to"do one fun thing everyday". In the pool on the tiles on the bottom of the pool, the motto was written. Therefore it became our challenge everyday to do more than one fun thing everyday. Certainly Mike and Alexis' breakfasts were the first fun thing of the day. The food was healthy and delicious. The rooms were clean and the lanai was great. We watched the goats and horses in the fields below during the day and watched the stars at night. The inn is on the south part of the island and it is easy to get to the south shore and Waimea Canyon.
If you've read anything about Kauai, you know that the roosters are prevalent everywhere, and they make noise at anytime of the day or night. However there were no roosters that were very near to Marjorie's (you could hear them in the distance). Hot tip was that if you put the fan up on the table (they have them in every room) and turn it on medium or high, you'll drown out the rooster noise almost completely.
We thought we were enjoying ourselves on vacation as it was, but when we arrived at the inn, our whole attitude changed and we started seeking out not only what was good about Hawaii, but what was quite memorable. It makes you want to sit back and smell the ginger.

Room Tip: I'm sure the room with the hot tub is nice but the other two were wonderful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was the ideal property for a stay on Kauai.
The room was perfect with a great bed and a superb kitchen. The lounge area was spacious and all very tastefully laid out. The large lanai had a hot-tub and the views of the mountains were terrific,
The breakfasts were different each day, but always great.
But the greatest aspect was the personal service we received from Jane and David who were standing in as hosts. They told us it was their first time, but you would never have believed it.
Many thanks to you both.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Jane and David (guest innkeepers during our stay) were absolutely wonderful. We stayed in two rooms during our four nights and they made the transition seamless. Also, it was great to stay in a residential area. The pool was great!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've been to Kauai twice, and both times stayed at Marjorie's. The first time I went with my mom, the second time with my best friend. It was awesome both times, but probably best for couples... I could see how it would be really romantic! The inn is tucked in a great area with a beautiful view. I enjoyed breakfast and the conversation with the innkeepers so much, I almost didn't want to leave for the day to enjoy the island (almost, but of course am glad I did). Very quiet and private. There's a fairly large gift shop not far from the inn (ask Alexis how to get there). It has better price and selection than any of the stuff at the beach. Also ask them where to get the best fruit... they have great advice!

Room Tip: Only room that had a/c when I was there (2010) was the room with the hot tub. But you really don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marjorie's Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Address: P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lawai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjorie's has a 50' salt water pool overlooking the beautiful Lawai valley. There are 2 hot tubs for our guests to use. We want all of our guests to feel at home so we provide boogie boards, fins and snorkel equipment, bikes, a kayak, a large bbq by the pool, and a surf board. Our guests can use the washer/dryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marjorie`s Kauai Hotel Lawai
Marjorie's Kauai Inn Lawai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marjorie's Kauai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.