We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marjorie's Kauai Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lawai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Save
You added Marjorie's Kauai Inn to your Saves list
P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lawai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I had a couple of days to explore the southern and western parts of Kauai, and Marjorie's Inn was a perfect location - close to beaches in Poipu and conveniently located as regards a drive to Ele'ele, Hanapepe, Waimea, and the Waimea Canyon. After an active day going around, it was nice to come back to the B&B, relax on the lanai or go for a swim in the pool. The surroundings are very pleasant with an authentic, local character - something you wouldn't get by staying at one of the hotels in Poipu. Luanne and Gary were our guest hosts, and they were very helpful and made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    15
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
233
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with another couple who were celebrating their 29th anniversary. What drew us to the place was the view and the pool. My girlfriend and I were training for a triathlon and needed to do some swimming. They have a fabulous lap pool that was so refreshing and perfect for us to keep training. The motto at the inn is to"do one fun thing everyday". In the pool on the tiles on the bottom of the pool, the motto was written. Therefore it became our challenge everyday to do more than one fun thing everyday. Certainly Mike and Alexis' breakfasts were the first fun thing of the day. The food was healthy and delicious. The rooms were clean and the lanai was great. We watched the goats and horses in the fields below during the day and watched the stars at night. The inn is on the south part of the island and it is easy to get to the south shore and Waimea Canyon.
If you've read anything about Kauai, you know that the roosters are prevalent everywhere, and they make noise at anytime of the day or night. However there were no roosters that were very near to Marjorie's (you could hear them in the distance). Hot tip was that if you put the fan up on the table (they have them in every room) and turn it on medium or high, you'll drown out the rooster noise almost completely.
We thought we were enjoying ourselves on vacation as it was, but when we arrived at the inn, our whole attitude changed and we started seeking out not only what was good about Hawaii, but what was quite memorable. It makes you want to sit back and smell the ginger.

Room Tip: I'm sure the room with the hot tub is nice but the other two were wonderful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was the ideal property for a stay on Kauai.
The room was perfect with a great bed and a superb kitchen. The lounge area was spacious and all very tastefully laid out. The large lanai had a hot-tub and the views of the mountains were terrific,
The breakfasts were different each day, but always great.
But the greatest aspect was the personal service we received from Jane and David who were standing in as hosts. They told us it was their first time, but you would never have believed it.
Many thanks to you both.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Jane and David (guest innkeepers during our stay) were absolutely wonderful. We stayed in two rooms during our four nights and they made the transition seamless. Also, it was great to stay in a residential area. The pool was great!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've been to Kauai twice, and both times stayed at Marjorie's. The first time I went with my mom, the second time with my best friend. It was awesome both times, but probably best for couples... I could see how it would be really romantic! The inn is tucked in a great area with a beautiful view. I enjoyed breakfast and the conversation with the innkeepers so much, I almost didn't want to leave for the day to enjoy the island (almost, but of course am glad I did). Very quiet and private. There's a fairly large gift shop not far from the inn (ask Alexis how to get there). It has better price and selection than any of the stuff at the beach. Also ask them where to get the best fruit... they have great advice!

Room Tip: Only room that had a/c when I was there (2010) was the room with the hot tub. But you really don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Marjorie's Inn for a week this summer and I was so pleased we did. It was the perfect place for us and it was lovely to come home there after a day out exploring. The room was lovely, comfortable, clean and the view from the lanai was superb. The breakfasts were delicious and i still miss them. The host was friendly and very helpful giving us tips on things to do and helping us in any way possible. The B&B has a store of equipment you can borrow like cool bags, beach chairs, snorkels etc and also a washing machine and tumble dryer.

The pool was lovely, the salt water was soft and kinder on the skin and sitting in the hot tub at sunset was amazing. Cant wait to visit this place again. thank you for providing such a lovely place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Staying at Marjorie's Kauai Inn is like visiting your family in paradise, without the family drama! Queen Emma chose to live in the Lawai Valley and it is easy to understand why. Being perched on the edge of this gorgeous valley is akin to drinking peacefulness and well-being. Breakfast is fantastic - one of my favorite treats was the grape juice freshly made with seeded grapes, but everyday the breakfast offered unexpected delights. Don't book any excursions without running them by Mike or Alexis- their goal is an awesome experience for YOU, and they know who to use for optimum enjoyment. I regretted a couple of the commitments I made on my own and wish I had taken advantage of the resident experts! All of Hawaii is a fitness center, there is so much to do. If you need equipment for snorkeling, kayaking, biking, ect., Mike and Alexis either have it to borrow or can point you in the right direction.Leaving for home is TORTURE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawai
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
The Palmwood
#1 of 4 in Kilauea
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjorie's Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Address: P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lawai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjorie's has a 50' salt water pool overlooking the beautiful Lawai valley. There are 2 hot tubs for our guests to use. We want all of our guests to feel at home so we provide boogie boards, fins and snorkel equipment, bikes, a kayak, a large bbq by the pool, and a surf board. Our guests can use the washer/dryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marjorie`s Kauai Hotel Lawai
Marjorie's Kauai Inn Lawai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marjorie's Kauai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.