We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahili Mountain Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koloa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kahili Mountain Park
Kahili Mountain Park, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Koloa
Hamilton, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was such a joy to return to the Kahili Mountain Park for another visit. It is a wonderful place, full of beauty and peace. Our cabin was perfect for us and we spent many happy mornings on the front porch drinking Kauai coffee as we watched the sun rise and the clouds drift over the mountains. The cabin was rustic but with the new mattresses and linens and towels it was comfortable and cozy. Penny Brewer and her husband were gracious and accommodating hosts and tended to our needs and made our stay a delight. We loved the unique features of the property: the ubiquitous chickens, the variety of citrus fruit from the trees, the hiking trail to the ridge of the mountain, and the wide open spaces through out the camp. Truly a special place to come and relax, to slow the pace of life and savor the beauty of creation.

Room Tip: Cabin #32 faced the east and on nice days we could watch the sun rise. It is very private and overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have been taking my hiking groups to stay here since at least the early 1980s. Penny is an excellent manager and goes out of her to help you get the right cabin or rental house for your party. It is a quiet place to stay amongst nature. We will definitely book there the next time we are on Kauai. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

In an expensive hotel in an over commercialized city. Kahili Mountain Park proves that you can have a good time without spending a lot of $$$. I am here during the winter season, which was the cheapest we could get the flight for. Be advised that it rains A LOT here during that time, so dress appropriately. The cabins range from dirt cheap $15 a night) to I think $180 a night for a cottage. The cabins just have a bed with sheets and a thin blanket, a mini fridge and a hot plate. It also has a sink. Bathrooms and showers are a short walk away. No tv. The cottages are pretty nice, they have bathrooms and showers inside plus washing machines/dryers and a real stove. Polished hardwood floors.

I recommend that if you come during the rainy season you rent an all wheel or 4 wheel drive vehicle because the roads can get quite muddy and a car can get stuck. Also bring an extra warm blanket if you can or a small heater.

Room Tip: If you have multiple people rent a cottage and bring sleeping bags and sleep on the floor. Much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
remote,OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

When you stay at the base of a volcano, the clouds back up to the mountain top and can rain every half hour in the rainy season. Yet, leave the property and go to the beach and the sky can be clear and wonderful. Such is winter in Kauai. I've stayed here before. it's gotten a little run down but it is still a wonderful and beautiful location. The school (which includes the cabins) has a very long lease on the property but the children, I've heard, of the man who gave the school the lease have become greedy and are trying to make business difficult for the cabins. So, prepare yourself for it being wet, damp and paper curling in the winter. Go to the town library is you need air-con. They are very helpful there. And free computers. Enjoy Kahili Park just know what you're getting into. You are in a rain forest after all! I'll go back, I'm sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were a group of 6 from the mainland and we were on vacation during Thanksgiving. We arrived at night and it seemed pretty shady driving up a dirt road for more than a mile (it seemed) and through corn fields (we thought). But when we woke up the next morning, we realized we were among the clouds, in the mountains, with the best view of the sun and the island! I would give it a 5 for location!

It took us a little getting used to because the furniture is old, there were lizards crawling on the walls, and we found the biggest millipede ever in one of the bedrooms but we expected it since we knew we were renting a cabin. My husband called it indoor camping, but it wasn't that bad. (I gave it a 4 because of these reasons.) We were able to cook a nice breakfast every morning (including Spam, of course), go on our excursions for the day (everywhere we wanted to go was within driving distance), come back home and take nice showers, sleep kind-of soundly (on our sleeping bags on top of the bed) and wake up to the rooster's cockadoodledo! We had a great time and the cabin had everything we needed.

The people we communicated with by email and phone were pleasant and helpful, too.

Room Tip: Cabin 36 is the biggest cabin. Has 2 showers inside and 2 bedrooms with full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

we were taken care of from the moment we arived by our hosts joshua and sherrylynn with our every need met and then some! Our cabin had a beautiful view of gods green earth. I would recomend this stay to anyone that needs to remember why you go to work every day and the answer is so you can afford to come to kahili mountian park.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

Some call it "roughing it." I didn't feel like that at all. Unless you can't live without a TV, these cabins are paradise. Very clean with wood beams, hard wood floors and a nice kitchenette. You are surrounded by mountains. Be sure to take the Kahili Mountain trail. It is very steep but after about 15 minutes of climbing, you get a beautiful view of the island from the top. The area where the cabins are is perfect. You are not far from anything even though you feel like you are.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kahili Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahili Mountain Park

Address: Kahili Mountain Park, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Koloa
Also Known As:
Kahili Mountain Park Koloa, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahili Mountain Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kahili Mountain Park to your Saves list