We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for pasta, not so much for pizza” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzetta

Pizzetta
5408 Koloa Road, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756
808.742.8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pizzetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 35 restaurants in Koloa
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent for pasta, not so much for pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ate here on our honeymoon. The pasta was decent, I would order it again. On the other hand, the pizza was gross!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    173
    168
    77
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Excellent Sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I saw this restaurant rated as the top pizza place on Kauai in one of the local magazines, so we decided to give it a try. We enjoyed our food so much we went back the next night for their pasta. Both nights we were quickly seated and the restaurant filled up soon thereafter. Our server the first night was very attentive, but the second night we overheard the manager say someone wasn't coming in, so he and some of the servers waited on us. The second night I did have to ask for drink refills. The first night we had the parmesan crusted baked zucchini as an appetizer and it was good. Our ham and mushroom pizza was very good, and the sauce was wonderful. The aroma coming from the kitchen, and the taste of the sauce, is what brought us back the next night. We both had a salad and my husband had the lasagne and I had the spaghetti marinara. I added shrimp to my dish, and received eight for just an additional $4. I felt that was a very reasonable price. Our dinners were both outstanding.

If we go go back to Kauai we'll be sure to dine here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mixed review for this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I thought food was so-so. My husband thought the calzone was great. First we had appetizer sampler, don't waste your money, boring and bland. I thought the calzone was ok, husband thought it was good. The crust is nothing special, a little overlooked. Probably would be better as a pizza. My husband ordered a gin and tonic. The second drink was either all tonic or vodka. I was not drinking alcohol so I tasted it and the was not a hint of gin taste. The waitress took it back. She came back and said they topped it off with gin. I would not waste money on a mixed drink,there. The description of the pasta dishes sound good and the smell coming out of the kitchen is enough to draw you in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Favorite Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We make this place one of our stops on every visit and the food and service is consistently good. They have specials but we normally just order a small pizza and drinks. Their prices are reasonable, their drinks cold and satisfying, and their pizza is always very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good night with family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had brushetta, a couple different pizzas and beers. The brushetta not as good as we make at home and a bit pricey for what we got. We make it at home all the time...oh well. The pizza on the other hand was fantastic. We all opted for thin crust. It was crunchy but not over cooked. The toppings were well flavored and not greasy. The service we had was outstanding.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzetta also viewed

 

Been to Pizzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.