We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Tropical Burgers

Poipu Tropical Burgers
2360 Kiahuna Plantation Dr, Poipu Shopping Village, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756-9552
808-742-1808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 30 Restaurants in Koloa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Good: French Toast and the fruit sauce that comes with it. Average otherwise.

The Bad: the servers were friendly but not great.

The Ugly: only 1 slice of toast. They charge $2 for coconut syrup

I would possibly return to give them another shot

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    162
    136
    71
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Located in the Poi'pu Shopping Center this restaurant serves very good food at a reasonable price. The hostess and servers seem to be happy to work here and will chat with you if you engage them. We had both breakfast and lunch here and found the food to be very good. Don't miss the coconut pancakes with coconut sauce if you go for breakfast. These are not just pancakes with a few flakes of coconut tossed on top. These are
nearly inch thick pancakes with coconut in the batter. Yummy!! Almost like eating coconut macaroons. What a way to start the day!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The first time we came there was hardly anybody in the restaurant and we got our order fairly quickly and enjoyed it. We went in a couple days later and it still wasn't terribly busy but after 20 minutes the server came back and asked us to make a different selection from the menu because they were out of fish. I said we would not make another selection just to bring the bill for the two drinks and we'd be on our way. She apologized but why should it take that long just to find out they didn't have something that day. I doubt that we'd go back. We've been on previous visits too and the service is usually very poor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The day we decided to try this place for breakfast there was one little old gal waiting tables, with the emphasis on waiting. The food was mediocre but the prices weren't and it took a good 20 minutes to get our bill. We could only laugh and shake our heads knowing as regular island visitors, we would never be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby Line, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“open air and fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

If you have any leftovers( and chances are you will not) small birds that float in on the breeze will snap them up. Our waitress was incredible friendly and helpful bringing us beautiful water immediately. Our burgers were done perfectly. Selections were of choices that in Vermont do not exist. What a terrific experience and we loved the green and white decor. Not what you would expect in a mini-mall. We would go back but it's 6000 miles away.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poipu Tropical Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Poipu Tropical Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Tropical Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.