We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Tropical Burgers

Poipu Tropical Burgers
2360 Kiahuna Plantation Dr, Poipu Shopping Village, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756-9552
808-742-1808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 30 Restaurants in Koloa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bowie
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A nice spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a lunch spot in the Poipu Shopping Village we stopped here and weren't disappointed. Nice menu variety and both my husband's and my meals were tasty, plentiful and not outrageously priced. We had good service with a Hawaiian relaxed feel. We had tried Keoki's nearby the day before and after being ignored for ten minutes while several servers were milling around, we left in frustration. The manager at the Poipu Tropical Burgers said after I complimented her on the service and food in comparison to lack of service at Keoki's that finding good servers was one of their biggest challenges. Would stick to breakfast or lunch here as so many other dinner places around.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    162
    136
    71
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Recommended to us...wish it wasn't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very poor and unattentive service was the worst part, but the food wasn't very good either. Walk 10 feet to the hot dog stand next door...really.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I went here for lunch while on vacation. At this shopping center there aren't many places to eat so we took a chance. It wasn't crowed and we got a table quickly. The waitress wasn't particularly thrilled to seat us and lo and behold she never did find her happy place. She went through the motions throughout the lunch. She brought our food, never stopped by to ask how things were (blah, mediocre hamburgers), never got us refills, brought the check and dropped it off without saying a word. She didn't ask about dessert or see if we needed anything else....she really wanted to be elsewhere.....considering all the great food we had on vacation, this was a disappointment and waste of money. Go elsewhere!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Put on the spot for ordering 'only' a cheeseburger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The burgers were actually good, if a little messy. Fries OK. We were at odds with the service, first they were like only a cheeseburger, not even a bacon cheeseburger? Then I was told the only option to substitute a salad instead of fries was the $15 salad bar.

Even accounting for people around here having a different attitude than on the mainland, not a super happy experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Late lunch, inattentive service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went here today for lunch with another family who were visiting Kauai the same time we were. We had to wait a bit to get seated which was understandable since we totaled 9 persons. We were seated at 2 tanles that were across the aisle from each other. The adults sat at one table and the children sat at another. It took some time for the server to come and take our order. This was OK as we were in no hurry. This establishment has a variety of burgers and other assorted sandwiches on their menu. It took awhile for our drinks to be delivered. It took even longer for the food to be delivered. At one point, everyone but one had their lunch. About 10 minutes later, the final lunch (a salad) was finally delivered. I'd like to note that our server went to other neighboring tables delivering their meals without once coming over to our table ro explain when the last meal would be delivered (we were trying to get her attention to inquiry where the final item was). It finally showed up. Everyone seemed to like what they had selected. I would also like to note that we arrived towards the end of the lunch hour so it wasn't particularly busy or taxing on the wait staff. This restaurant is located in a shopping center that has got some other restaurants. This restaurant seems to be good for families. The food was average but the service we received was quite inattentive. We've experienced this sort of thing at other Kauai restaurants. If you choose to eat here, just don't be in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poipu Tropical Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Poipu Tropical Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Tropical Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.