We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koloa Fish Market

Koloa Fish Market
5482 Koloa Rd, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756-9421
808-742-1018
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Koloa
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great place to stop and grab some food to take for a picnic by the beach (which is a good plan, as there's really no where to sit). A friend recommended it to me before my trip and it was the first place I stopped.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    88
    27
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Great Lunch's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you are looking for a great place for lunch, get in line with the locals and get a plate lunch. Try the special of the day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not all the hype!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have read all the reviews of the Koloa Fish market and decided to have them cater a party we were having. Beware of how much food they estimate for you as they will over estimate the amount you need. Additionally, they charge a different rate for tourist and locals. While standing by the csh register to fill out/pay for my order, I noticed workers charging people different prices for the same food plates. It was obvious the higher rate was charged to the tourist while the lower rate was given to a local resident. Additionally, the Kalua pork we ordered was not all that. I have had better elsewhere. I would not return to this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fresh and Fresher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

On a recent stay in Kauai, my wife and I decided to stay in a condo that had a full kitchen. We did this to see what it would be like to grocery shop and cook while visiting Hawaii. The Koloa Fish Market is a little hole in the wall in Old Koloa Town where we bought our fish.. If you blink you will miss it. They have the freshest fish on the island. Everything is freshly caught that day and it is cheaper than any other market we found. You do have to go early and they only except cash.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Must have been an off day”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Heard all the hype and convinced my friends to go. We decided to try the two pork plate lunch that came with a small bit of poke and lomi lomi. The kalua pork was grey and tasteless, the poke was the worst we had, the long rice had little if no chicken at all. thankfully we were able to try poke again in Princeville at the grocery store and kalua pork at a luau. Both amazing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koloa Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koloa Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.