We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value poké” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koloa Fish Market

Koloa Fish Market
5482 Koloa Rd, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756-9421
808-742-1018
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Koloa
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value poké”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stopped by this little hole in the wall for some take out poké after our zipline session (3 minute drive from Koloa Zipline office). Food was incredibly fresh and great tasting, portions more than adequate, great value, and good service. Onion pokés were very good; the kimchi versions were a little salty for our taste.

Great local find!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    88
    27
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this place. Although it is a tiny place, it provides big taste. We both got Mahi lunch plates that were incredibly affordable and large portion sizes. We got marlin to grill that night and then smoked marlin. My husband wanted to the smoked marlin but did not know what to do with it. He asked and the person checking us out had several recommendations. This was definitely one of the more affordable places to eat on Kauai.

Oh and note that they only accept cash!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Poke and coconut turnovers were fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Seaweed salad was also very good and not overdressed. Small place that prepares fresh daily.
Onion poke very good,Korean one seemed salty ( but maybe that is just me).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love me some Hawaiian Plate Lunches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Mmmmm.....love Hawaii plate lunches and the ones at the Koloa Fish Market are the best. Right across the street from the post office in a tiny store front. The pork was tender and flavorful cooked just to perfection. Hardy portions of great tasting food. Only regret was not going more than one time to the Fish Market!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great take-out food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Another local favorite that we visited. Small hole in the wall that is only open a few hours a day but well worth the stop. My favorite item was the Lau-Lau. I've had mediocre ones from many places and this one rocked. By far the best Lau-Lau I've had.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koloa Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koloa Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.