We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian Food in a sophisticated setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar

La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar
5492 Koloa Road, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756 (Formerly La Spezia)
+1 808-742-8824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Koloa
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mt Evelyn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food in a sophisticated setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We dined at this lovely restaurant this evening and had a wonderful meal. Friendly service, a simple but sophisticated setting, very nice wine and fantastic food. What more can you ask for? We found the food full of flavor and the portion sizes filling but not too large. Liked everything about this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    65
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to try and heard good things about La Spezia. I did enjoy the unusual cocktail choices. I thought it unusual for an Italian restaurant to not offer bread or olive tapenade or something to welcome you to their dining experience, tho. I ordered their Chicken Fettuccine. It had no flavor and actually was quite bitter. When my husband asked for some cheese for his pasta, the server said,"Cheese? Like Parmesian?" and seemed quite surprised at the request. So odd. Also, its obvious everything is not "made to order". You can be in and out of there in 30 minutes. We won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nicely done, but can be noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

As a resident of Koloa, I love it when a new restaurant comes to town, or rather in this case, reinvents itself in a former location. The food,last evening when a friend and went for dinner, was extremely good. One of us had the special of black mussels with fettuccine with garlic, parmesan and cream. My friend had the hangar steak. Both meals were good, the white wine also good. The downside was that we arrived at 5:15p.m, and soon gave our order, and were waiting still at 6:15p.m., which is a little long to have a bit of bread and wine. In addition, the noise level rose as the restaurant filled, mostly from the bar area, which is in an adjoining room. There needs to be something to soak up all that hilarity, so the diners don't have to be subjected to it. Panels hung from the ceiling with special material to reduce noise would be a big help. I will go back because the food is so good, and it's close to home, but the noise may eventually drive me away. We'll see. It's worth a try, and I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Have the steak with gorgonzola polenta.
Fabulous!
They also have a very creative and reasonable wine list.
They also are doing a nice breakfast with home made bagels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“La Spezia, a new bistro by seasoned hands in Koloa Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

So far I've been to La Spezia 3 times since the opening about 10 days ago.
Located in the old Cafe Cara of days past, the ambience and welcome reflect
a return to the neighborhood feel and menu of that much missed restaurant.
Breakfast was great and it's wonderful to have the homemade bagels that first
brought Liz and Dan to everyone's attention many years ago.

The evening visits have proved new Chef Megan has talent with a light palate
dialed in to the focus of the dish with respect to the subject, enhancing without
unnecessary or unfortunate embelishment. Table service was casual, friendly,
helpful, and complete.
The bar area seems popular already; attractive, well stocked, and presided over by the folks who worked Casa Blanca before everyone moved over to La Spezia; knowledgable, fun, special cocktails, with a local following.

Everyone we know who has tried it is thankful to have a neighborhood bistro back in Koloa Town and appreciative of what Liz and Dan have put together. It will become our go-to choice for all occasions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.