We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and tons of options!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle's Shave Ice and Smoothies

Uncle's Shave Ice and Smoothies
2829 Ala Kalanikaumaka, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756
(808) 742 - 2364
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Koloa
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious and tons of options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at Uncle's right at 9pm, but they insisted on serving me before they closed! I got a small shave ice with "tigers blood" (strawberry/watermelon) and coconut and it was delicious. There weren't any ice chunks just perfect snowy flakes. I had read a review in Kauai traveler magazine and agree that it is one of the best!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    36
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Tried 2 flavors - Passion/Coconut combo and Pina Colada
The flavors were not that great. In fact they kind of blended into each other, tasting quite the same half way into the cup. Overall, the flavors tasted nothing more than artificial sugar water laced on ice. Total disappointment.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Shaved Ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife, 9 year old daughter, and I had shaved twice there last week when we were in Kauai. They had a great selection, very friendly staff, reasonable prices, and fluffy and yummy shaved ice. I would suggest the small since it is rather large if you ask me. We had asked a couple of locals at Koloa Fish Market for the best shaved ice and they recommended Uncles, they were right : ) !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply delicious and refreshing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We made it a point to try every Shave Ice place in Kawai and by far Uncle's was the best. Yummy flavors, friendly service and located in a very nice plaza with plenty to do. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Nice JoJo Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

They've got it down in this place. Lots of flavors. Great staff. Ice with different textures. No need to run to Waimea. But, if you do, we still love JoJo's.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle's Shave Ice and Smoothies also viewed

 

Been to Uncle's Shave Ice and Smoothies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle's Shave Ice and Smoothies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.