We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill

Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill
2829 Ala Kalanikaumaka, Kukui'ula Village Mall, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756
808-742-7117
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Koloa
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Tapas, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poipu Rd.
Description: Chef Jean Marie Josselin has created another masterpiece with this new and unique tapas restaurant. Imagine dining in a rustic, yet contemporary, style dining room with an open view of the kitchen where the wood-burning oven cooks fresh, local produce, fish and meat to perfection. Share several different tapas and taste incredible culinary creations. Enjoy refreshing signature sangrias served tableside like you have never had it before. This chic new hotspot on Kauai"s south shore will have you coming back time and time again, making each experience a memorable one. "The Whole Process is About Sharing."
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was the best dinning experiences we had in Poipu Kauai, Hi. The service is great from when you first walk in the door. The pleasantries of greeting at the door to explaining the menu all the way thru to walking out the door. The food was awesome in presentation and taste. The drinks are very good. Tapas eating is great although it did come a little fast from dish to dish. This is the way families should eat together. Awesome!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    188
    84
    43
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yeppoon, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice friendly busy restaurant with a great range of food. The selection was made easy by the knowledgable staff whose suggestions were all pretty much spot on, except the risotto, which they happily credited.
The margarita trolley to start the evening was a hit.
Bright engaging venue full of energy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good fun; Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The food at Josselin's was outstanding. Four of us had 9 dishes, which was too much but they were all outstanding. Our server was very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly, but we had the feeling she tried to up-sell. She thought we should have up tp 12 dishes.....but at 9, we felt we had over indulged. There is a Sangria bar, which was really fun. We last had Sangria in Spain, many years ago on our honeymoon. The Sangria at Josselins was wonderful, and brought back fond memories of lots of laughs and good times brought on by Sangria. It was tempting to try the three different flavours but one was enough tonight.
Joeesein's is not inexpensive but it was a good spot and we willl definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas and Lychee Sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stopped in right after opening since we had a long drive back to the North Shore and had spent the day in the car. Waitstaff was exceptionally attentive and made several good suggestions. We ended up ordering 3 small plates and one larger plate and had ore than sufficient food. The fish we ordered was a bit meatier than expected, but was expertly prepared and delicious! Over all we both liked it a lot, tho, as with most things on the Islands found it a bit pricey for the quantity of food. Especially loved the Lychee Sangria!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I must not be hip enough to get it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was one of our more expensive nights out and quite honestly, it is really overrated (in my opinion). Tapas and sangria sounds wonderful but the offerings are confusing; they sound intriguing but are pretty normal and some of the most expensive ones are just so-so. The salads turned out to be the most enjoyable. I don't get paying a premium for this experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.