We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tapas and Lychee Sangria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill

Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill
2829 Ala Kalanikaumaka, Kukui'ula Village Mall, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756
808-742-7117
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Koloa
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Tapas, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poipu Rd.
Description: Chef Jean Marie Josselin has created another masterpiece with this new and unique tapas restaurant. Imagine dining in a rustic, yet contemporary, style dining room with an open view of the kitchen where the wood-burning oven cooks fresh, local produce, fish and meat to perfection. Share several different tapas and taste incredible culinary creations. Enjoy refreshing signature sangrias served tableside like you have never had it before. This chic new hotspot on Kauai"s south shore will have you coming back time and time again, making each experience a memorable one. "The Whole Process is About Sharing."
Colorado USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas and Lychee Sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stopped in right after opening since we had a long drive back to the North Shore and had spent the day in the car. Waitstaff was exceptionally attentive and made several good suggestions. We ended up ordering 3 small plates and one larger plate and had ore than sufficient food. The fish we ordered was a bit meatier than expected, but was expertly prepared and delicious! Over all we both liked it a lot, tho, as with most things on the Islands found it a bit pricey for the quantity of food. Especially loved the Lychee Sangria!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    187
    84
    43
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I must not be hip enough to get it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was one of our more expensive nights out and quite honestly, it is really overrated (in my opinion). Tapas and sangria sounds wonderful but the offerings are confusing; they sound intriguing but are pretty normal and some of the most expensive ones are just so-so. The salads turned out to be the most enjoyable. I don't get paying a premium for this experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great flavors in a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stopped in with a large group again, 8 of us all told, and had an enjoyable time. we ordered a vast array of the tapas and thought there were some great hits and a couple of duds. The assorted poke were great to start with - 4 different types of poke and each had it's own distinct style. The sea diver scallops were perfectly cooked and the risotto that went with it was excellent. The fall risotto was not in the same league and was the least enjoyed dish of the evening along with the short rib steam buns - the meat was flavorful but we all thought the texture of the bun was odd. The duck confit tacos, rock shrimp tempura, crispy octopus, beet ravioli and tiger prawns rounded out a great shared meal. We thought the price and value were fine for the quality of food we got.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious variety of flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable meal at Josselin's. We had never been to a tapas restaurant before, but our server was very knowledgeable and gave great suggestions as to what foods and flavors would go together well. We ended up having a wonderful dinner of delicious seafood.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“The food will entertain you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Few Americans frequent tapas restaurants, this is a perfect place for the tapas experience. Particularly refreshing and unexpected to find it on Kauai. Imaginative, island inspired dishes, not what you may remember from Spain. Each person is recommended to order three dishes that can be shared; so the larger your party the more things you can try. They also have a roll-around Sangria mixer cart with traditional and island flavors. If you're into this Spanish delight you'll be very happy. The only improvement I would like to see is the possibility to ask the servers to pre-cut dishes into portions for sharing, although we managed the portioning job successfully ourselves.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josselin's Tapas Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.