We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ain't what it used to be.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sueoka Snack Shop

Sueoka Snack Shop
5392 Koloa Road, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 35 restaurants in Koloa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Gardena, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It ain't what it used to be.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

It's been many years since I've been back to Koloa and I've had some decent food from this place in the past but now... I ordered the teri-beef and in its place I recieved 2 pieces of teriyaki flavored burnt chunks of leather. You couldn't order a worse plate of teryaki anything, and I've had some doozies. The rest of my party seemed satisfied with their orders even if they were skimpy. At least they could eat theirs. Even the Coke I ordered was running out of syrup and tasted like brown club soda. Not good. Never again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    34
    33
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You have to eat local at Sueoka's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great plate lunches at a great price. Food is basic but good. Each meal comes with rice and mac salad. The teryaki beef was delish.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not worth the stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I wanted to like the Sueoka Snack Shop based on all the reviews I read. However, I'd suggest not visiting this place. The server behind the counter wasn't the least bit friendly and it was apparent she wasn't happy being there. There aren't any tables or anything. I had better food at the L&L in California.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Takeaway Wimdow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The lines are long for a good reason. The food is great and prices very reasonable! Awesome!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find to stretch your vacation budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice, fairly hidden, store that doesn't jack up the prices on you. Great for beer/liquor and snacks while you're on the island.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sueoka Snack Shop also viewed

 

Been to Sueoka Snack Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueoka Snack Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.