We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Wraps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea Fish Market

Kilauea Fish Market
4270 Kilauea Lighthouse Rd, Kilauea, Kauai, HI
808-828-6244
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Wraps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Kilauea Fish Market has been one of our favorites restaurants on Kauai ever since we moved here in 2005. We not only take all of our friends there, but I also tell everyone who comes to my open houses that they have to eat there before they leave the island.
We have many friends who come to Kauai annually, and they all now include Kilauea Fish Market on their itinerary. It is the BEST restaurant on the north shore, and their prices are not geared toward tourists.
The sauces are part of the reason that their food is so delicious. You HAVE to go there! Once you enjoy one of their fantastic meals, you will keep going back for more. Guaranteed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    104
    49
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Try the fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We tried a array of dishes here including the poke, fish tacos, ono wrap and bbq chicken.

Poke - fresh and decent but with strong over-powering use of sesame oil
Fish tacos - good use of fresh cabbage rather than lettuce with light use of cheese, and good sauce
Ono wrap - good sauce but overcooked fish
BBQ chicken - the worst of all the dishes, dry chicken

Overall this place is one of the better ones on the island given that we had way too many mediocre meals on this vacation. The only peeve I had was that it takes forever for them to fulfill any orders.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great lunch...super fresh & flavorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We tried this little place because of the Food Network's "Best thing I ever ate" show - and it was excellent. We had the ahi tuna wrap and the poke (which the very friendly staff offered us a sample of to try)...both were out of this world good. Very casual - we had lunch there - no indoor seating, we sat outside and got a couple of beers at a nearby market (that was going out of business :( Unfortunately)...it was the perfect lunch before golf.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Another place I make sure to come to when I am in Kilauea, HI. Very very casual and can be crowded but worth it. It is a do not miss place.

The fish tacos, and their plate meals are my favorites. It is mostly seafood but they do have a few chicken dishes. It is all outside eating right there with the local birds and roasters.

The Ahi Poke is best. After you have your lunch be sure to visit the Kilauea Lighthouse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh well prepared food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went based on recommendation of a friend and other reviews. The food was creative, fresh and well done. Paper plates and outdoor picnic tables but definitely worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Kilauea Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.