We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy frosties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Joe's Fruitstand

Banana Joe's Fruitstand
Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
808-828-1092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Kilauea
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Yummy frosties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Must stop here for a quick refreshment or if you are looking to buy some local produce (esp. fruits and vegetables) We had a banana frosty, which was super-yummy. One was enough to share between 2 adults.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible frosty, fresh and local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Banana Joe's is undoubtedly an establishment on the north shore of Kauai. Joe and Cindy have been running it longer than I have been alive and let me tell you, practice makes perfect.

To all the people reading reviews in which people complain about certain fruit not being in season: This is a local fruit stand. Joe and Cindy only stock fruit that is in season and local. Mangoes, guavas, and white pineapple don't just fall off trees 24/7, 365 days a year. However that just makes them more special when they are in season. My recommendation to tourists is to be adventurous and try what is is in season! Rambutans, lychee, and tangelos are just a few examples.

The smoothies and frostys are amazing. They make them fresh every day and we do just use fruit. That's it. It always make smile when people press them about the ingredients and they have to keep telling them it is just frozen pineapple and banana. That is one of my favorite parts of Banana Joe's, they let the fruit speak for them. I strongly encourage you to try not only a smoothie or frosty but some of the delicious local fruit and produce. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Frosty, yummy, 'nuf said”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stop here and get a frosty on your vacation. You won't regret it. They also carry local fruits/goods. Pleasant staff. We also tried their yummy smoothies.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fresh and Ready”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Banana Joe's is great. We read about it in a Kauai guide book and wanted to stop by. They make smoothies right in front of you with fresh cut fruits. I wish we had time to go again but we will definitely go next time we're on the island.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Croix-Valmer, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best smoothies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Best smoothies on the island! Try the mango-pineapple-banana it's a killer! A must stop if you're in Kauai.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Joe's Fruitstand also viewed

 

Been to Banana Joe's Fruitstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Joe's Fruitstand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.