We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Acres Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Acres Cottages
Save
You added Green Acres Cottages to your Saves list
5-0421-C Kuhio Hi, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754   |  
Hotel amenities
utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for 3-1/2 weeks in the Gazebo Cottage. It is beautifully decorated, very clean, and has a terrific lanai. We enjoyed the lanai for every breakfast, watching the sun come up over the orchard, listening to the birds, watching the huge bee on the hibiscus, and in general loving being outside. Although it only has a kitchenette, it is well-supplied, and includes a microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, hot plate, crock pots, and lots of dishes, pots, and containers.

The best part about Green Acres, however, is the hosts. Tony and Diane are friendly, helpful, and generous. We received multiple gifts of banana bread, cookies, carrot cake, and fruit. Imagine our surprise when we came back from two nights on the other side of the island to find a carrot cake in the fridge, or from a day at the beach to find a coffee cake on the table! We were also welcome to all the fruit we could pick and all the macademia nuts we could crack and eat. When Tony saw us coming and going, he would always ask how our day was or where we were going, and if we needed anything. They also have a supply of coolers and beach mats, flippers, etc.

I will recommend Green Acres to all my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: The Gazebo Cottage has a very nice lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Green Acres for 3 nights on our 2 week stay.
We were staying on the west side but thought we would take a side trip up North for few days so we could explor the area. Green Acres was a very resonable priced property in good location to get out and see the sites. Although a little small (everything in one room) was perfect for short visits. There was a kichenette no stove and only bar fridge but they do have a large electic bbq and microwave, toaster oven and even a one burner hot plate. This property is clean with so many lovely details. Charming is a word that comes to mind. Tony and Diane oviously work hard to keep the house and grounds in immaculate condition
Totaly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in one of Tony's cottages for three nights while staying in Kauai. It was the perfect spot to land for a few days. It's a quaint, clean space that has everything you need. The space is on a citrus farm and you are free to wander the land. The complimentary breakfast was especially nice. The cottages are right near Common Ground-- an incredibly good farm-fresh restaurant. The jacuzzi wasn't working when we were there but the spot is so perfect we didn't even seem to mind. The cost is half that of a traditional hotel and has much more personality. Tony and family are very genuine and generous. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Two are smaller and one is a little larger. Three rooms in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Green Acres Cottages for 7 nights May 24-31, 2013 and I must say the service, location, and property is excellent. It is in close promity to Kapaa (south on Kuhio Hwy) and to the north coast of Kauai (Hanalei, Princeville, Haena Beach Park, Kee Beach, etc..). It is also a very peaceful and quiet location. The only thing you will hear on the property is the chickens wake up call in the morning. (Chickens are everywhere on Kauai).

It feels like home and is clean. I traveled a long way from Texas for my first ever trip to a Hawaiian island (Kauai) and I'm glad I picked GAC for lodging. The owners Tony and Tran are very friendly. I did enjoy cracking my own macadamia nuts on the back porch. That was a treat after the long fun day at the beach and hiking trail.

So if you want a great excellent lodging experience on Kauai then Green Acres Cottages is the place. Great for solo travelers.

Thank u Tony and Tran! See u next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in the Green Acres Cottages a total of 7 nights and we do not regret it at all. It has three cottages and they have a good price-to-quality ratio (it is not expensive at all considering the other alternatives in the island).

It does not have the luxuries of a resort (large swimming pool, perfect rooms) but it has other things that make it more interesting as a lodge: it feels more like being at home compared to a hotel (which we appreciate when we travel), it has a huge yard full of fruit trees (citrics, mangoes, ...) where the kids can run freely (and you can pick the fruits if you want), it has a jacuzzi (we did not use it though) and the owners (Diane and Tony) take good care of the customers (the carrot cake that Diane prepared for us was delicious!).

We stayed in the nautic room, which is very convenient for a family of 4 members. This room has a queen bed and two twin beds. Also it features a refrigerator and cooking gear that is useful if you plan to cook your meals (which we did extensively).

If you like the hikes and beaches of the north and east shores of Kauai'i, this is definitively a good option for lodging.

Room Tip: If you are a party of four, for instance a family with two kids, consider asking for the Nautic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

As a budget traveller it is not easy to find a good acoommodation in Kaua'i (except on campsites), so we've been happy to find the Green Acres Cottages recommendation in the Lonely Planet Guidebook. And what we found when we got there was a lot over our expectations! The hospitality of Tony and Diane, the cozy and clean room (Nautical Dreams,which is big enough for 4 guests), the kitchenette with table, the fruits and cakes, the mac nuts, the dvds in our room and much more made us feel at home. We've been travelling for 4 month and this was one of the best places we stayed in! Go for it!

Best Pizza (European Style): Hanalei Pizza
Best Na Pali Cruise (if you are not seasick): North Shore Charters

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at Nautical Dreams, we were there for 3 nights, we live in Honolulu but wanted to stay away from traffic and city view. Ocean is not a new thing for us and we chose to be there. It was perfect and we really appreciated Tony and Diane hospitality. Room was clean, especially for the Macadamia nuts basket had been served for all guests. We love the quiet environment, green trees, orange, grape fruits, lemons, picked them up whatever we want and eat, it was great and you will never get that kind of feeling in big city. Tony let us use for his barbecue grill and it was such a great time for our vacation. I would encourage for everyone to be there for being quiet, stay away from traffic, this place is not near bar & night club. Any way, we did right choose for our stay in Kauai, We will be there again if we visit to Kauai. WE LOVE Green Acres Cottage. Mahalo, Moe & Ryoko

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Acres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Cottages

Address: 5-0421-C Kuhio Hi, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kilauea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Green Acres Cottages Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Acres Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.